In 1891, the Olympia Tribune published a souvenir issue, consisting of 22 bound pages that were printed and bound at the State Printing Office. The issue contained information on the State of Washington, and on Olympia in particular. It included short biographies and photographs of many of Olympia’s prominent citizens, as well as descriptions and images of several of the businesses, churches, and other institutions. As a companion to this website’s “Residents” and “Where Are We?”projects, we are including transcriptions of some of the biographies contained in the Souvenir Issue, and reproductions of the photographs. These will be added to as time permits. The State Library plans to upload a viewable version of this issue in the future, and links will be provided here.
The original biographies were not in alphabetical order: we have placed them in alphabetical order here for easier access. You may also consult the “Residents” section of this website for further information about the families and people included. Thank you intern Christina Schaller for some of the transcriptions. Following the biographies are reproductions of the images included in the issue, with links, where applicable, to Where Are We? webpages.
Archibald H. Adams, real estate and insurance broker, was born in New York in 1844. In 1855 he removed to Milwaukee, Wis., where he graduated from the high school and entered into the wholesale drug business in 1859. At the breaking out of the rebellion he enlisted as a private in the Twenty-fourth Wisconsin volunteer infantry and served throughout the war, returning in 1866 as captain in the Thirty-fifth Wisconsin volunteer infantry. He then again entered the drug business, and in the same firm, where he stayed until 1884, when he went to Chicago. Mr. Adams is one of the largest real estate handlers in the city, and by prompt attention and honorable dealing his business is steadily and rapidly increasing.
Two of the most enterprising young business men of this city are J.P. and B.C. Armstrong, who opened a dry goods store here March 17, 1889. They came to Olympia from Chicago, where for many years they had followed their profession, acquiring a thorough knowledge of the dry goods business. Early in 1889 they came to Washington seeking a location to open business for themselves and after visiting the principal cities on Puget Sound they settled in Olympia, attracted by its superior advantages for their line of business. Their business career has been marked with more than ordinary enterprise and their fast increasing trade has twice compelled them to enlarge their store which now ranks among the first in the city. They have always shown a liberal disposition and have given largely to all enterprises that have in any way been a benefit to the business of this city. A short time ago the firm name was changed to B.C. Armstrong, under which name the business is now conducted, and all persons who wish to do business with a straightforward and conscientious house will do well to visit the store and examine the new and elegant stock of B.C. Armstrong.
Oliver Baker, real estate and insurance broker, was born on Cape Cod, Massachusetts, where his early boyhood was spent. In 1861 he went to Boston to learn the carpet business with one of the leading carpet houses on Washington street. He was married in 1864, and came to Cleveland, Ohio, where he was engaged with one of the leading carpet and drapery houses of the western reserve. After being there three years he was admitted to a partnership, and three years after went into business for himself at Akron, Ohio. After good success he opened a branch store at Canton, in the same state. In 1874 he opened a large establishment in Cleveland on Euclid avenue. In 1879 the firm of Baker, Sterling & Co was organized at Toledo, Ohio, and in 1884 Mr. Baker organized the Lima Carpet Co. In 1885 he opened business at St. Paul, Minn., the house being known as late as 1889 as the Oliver Baker Carpet Co. Mr. Baker came to Olympia in the spring of 1890 to engage in the real estate brokerage business under the firm name of Oliver Baker. The venture was successful from the start, and in August of the same year Mr. A.H. Adams, of Chicago, became a partner, under the firm name of Baker & Adams. At this writing the firm is about to be dissolved, Mr. Baker resuming his own firm name. Mr. Baker is a progressive, pushing citizen, who has won his own way in the world.
S.H. Barbee was born March 25, 1853, at Oskaloosa, Iowa. His parents came from Indiana with the first white settlers to Iowa. When he was but one year old they migrated to Western Iowa, settling near Council Bluffs, where his early life was spent on his father’s farm. Imbued with the spirit of his parents, and with “Westward ho!” (his mother named him Horace,) he left the farm at the age of twenty years. He came to Puget Sound and engaged in teaching school at old Fort Nisqually, and remained two years. He then returned home, but soon started for the Black Hills to engage in mining. Not making a “strike,” he shortly returned to Iowa and engaged in the live stock business, successfully conducting one of the largest and finest stock farms in the state. In 1885 he engaged in the real estate busines in Council Bluffs. In the early part of 1888 he returned with his family to Puget Sound, settling at Tacoma, and entering the loan busines. There had been a wonderful change in the sixten years of his absence. He remained there until 1889, when he came to Olympia, he realizing that this would be a large city, and that Tacoma and Seattle had already reached their best. In 1890, with six others, he purchased Puget City, and incorporated the Portland and Puget City Company of which he is secretary. This is a thriving little town, and was selected by Benjamin Holiday as the terminus of the Union Pacific Railway. The location is midway between Tacoma and Olympia. This is only one of the many fine opportunities Mr. Barbee has for his patrons. He has some of the finest additions in the city, but he surely struck the key note in the Second Capital addition. Lots here have doubled in the past six months, and the electric car line survey passes directly through it. He again proved his foresight when he purchased the entire townsite of Port Orchard, where the United States government dry dock will be located. He is selling lots here within the reach of all working men and others who want a home in a brisk, bustling city, where the noise of the hammer and sawmill will always be heard, as this is the only town that adjoins the navy yard.
George A. Barnes, ex-mayor of Olympia, and the present president of the Chamber of Commerce, is one of Oregon’s oldest pioneers, and was born in Brockport, Munroe County, New York, in 1821. He received a common school education, and in early life followed the occupation of a clerk in a general store. In 1848 he crossed the plains and settled in Oregon City, Oregon, where he spent the winter of ’48 and ’49. In May, ’49, he went to the mines in California, where he stayed about a year, and then returned to the east by the way of the Isthmus of Panama. In 1850 he crossed the plains a second time, and located in Portland, Oregon, where he engaged in the merchandising business until 1852, when he came to Olympia. Here he has resided ever since, and for thirty years he has lived in the house which he erected in 1860, on Fourth Street. For fifteen years Mr. Barnes was engaged in merchandising here, and he then started a bank which he conducted for 12 years, when he sold out, and has since been engaged in looking after his own property and in the real estate business. Although so well along in years, he does not have the appearance of being nearly his real age. Mr. Barnes was president of the board of trustees during the time of the town government, and was mayor the year that President Hayes visited Olympia as the guest of the town. He has been president of the Chamber of Commerce for the past two years. He has always had faith in the future of Olympia, and has done much to make the city the flourishing municipality that it is to-day.
Clarence M. Barton, editor of the TRIBUNE, is an old-time newspaperman, having been in editorial harness for many years in Washington City, Philadelphia and in this state. He was born in Mount Holly, N.J., fifty years ago; was raised and educated in the public schools and the central high school of Philadelphia; was in the United States navy eight years; was at the burning of the Norfolk navy yard in April, 1861; was in the expedition that went to the relief of Fort Pickens, and which destroyed the Judah in Pensacola harbor September, 1861; was in the New Orleans expedition with Farragut; and with other expeditions in the Gulf of Mexico in 1862; was clerk of the Washington, D.C. navy yard five years; taught school five years; was member of the city council and clerk of the only legislature of District of Columbia; was managing editor of the National Republican and other daily newspapers of Washington City, and on the staff of the Philadephia News and the Philadelphia Times; came to Washington from Philadelphia in 1886; had charge of the Tacoma Ledger two years; was the territorial correspondent of the Oregonian one year; was reading clerk of constitutional convention, and secretary of the first and second senate; is the author and compiler of Barton’s Hand-Book and Legislative Manual of Washington; and last year compiled the commercial statistics of the State of Washington for the United States treasury department. Major Barton has been editor of the Olympia TRIBUNE since it started in May last, and resides with his family in this city. He has three married daughters, two of whom reside in Tacoma and one in this city. Major Barton has written many interesting articles relative to the growth and development of this State, and has been correspondent for many of the leading papers of the country.
Charles C. Bell, better known in wheeling circles as “Collie” Bell, was born in Southern Minnesota, May 17, 1870. When he was six years of age his parents moved to Minneapolis. Here “Collie” attended the public schools until fifteen years of age, when he commenced a course at the Archibald business college. About this time he purchased a bicycle to ride from his home to schoool. This was the beginning of a successful career as a bicyclist. He soon became quite proficient in handling the wheel, and has taken part in several tournaments and carried off a majority of the prizes. His longest continuous ride was 142 5/8 miles, over a common wagon road, which he made in 11 hours and 49 minutes, including stops for meals. In June, 1889, he went to Ottawa, Kas., where he won the 10-mile national championship. In Kansas he established a new set of records. He was captain of the Minneapolis club for two years, and it was mainly through his efforts that it has grown to its present size. Here he won a 25 mile race for the championship of the northwest. On the track he has made the following records: 1/2 mile, 1 minute, 178 seconds; 1 mile, 2 minutes, 17 seconds; 5 miles, 14 minutes, 49 seconds; 10 miles, 29 minutes 53 seconds. On the road he has made: 1/2 mile, 1 minute, 19 seconds; 10 miles, 33 minutes, 10 seconds; 25 miles, 1 hour, 28 minutes, 45 seconds; 50 miles, 3 hours, 15 minutes; 100 miles, 7 hours, 49 minutes. In all his races he has won over $2,000 worth of prizes.He stands 5 feet, 10 1/2 inches, and weights 178 pounds. Following Horace Greeley’s advice, he came west. Arriving at Olympia he entered the employ of the Western Union Telegraph Co. He remained with this company until the spring of 1890, when he enetered the service of the Northern Pacific Express Co. as express agent between Olympia and Tenino, which is his occupation at present. He is enthusiastic on the subject of bicycling, and is agent for some of the best wheels. Mr. Bell on April 1 entered the services of Tacoma, Olympia & Gray’s Harbor Electric Co., with headquarters at Montesano. He has a general supervision of the company’s system in Gray’s Harbor.
William W. Bettman, one of Olympia’s young and enterprising business men, was born in this city on February 25, 1866. His early education was secured here, but he was afterwards sent to Portland where he entered the public schools, and at the age of 18 years entered into business at Castle Rock, where he continued for four years. Disposing of his enterprise there, he returned back to Olympia and entered the establishment of his father on Main street, where he has since continued. Mr. Bettman is prominent in the younger social circles of the city. He is the national secretaryof the Ancient Order of Foresters, and takes a deep interest in the work of that order.
Among the recent additions to Olympia’s business houses is the firm of Bilger & Going, who, though established here less than three months ago, has secured a firm hold on the buying public of this city. … Mr. W.L. Bilger is a native of Oregon, and has been for eight years connected with the well known hardware firm of Honeyman, De Hart & Company, at Portland, six years of which he has been one of that firm’s most trusted traveling salesman [sic]
W.W. Binheimer, the leader [of the Capital City Band], was born in Fairfield, Iowa, August 26, 1862. In 1867 his parents removed to Keokuk, Iowa, in 1871 to Farmington, Iowa, and shortly after to Bonapart, in the same state. After getting a common school education Mr. Binheimer, at the age of fifteen years, commenced traveling in a musical organization, where he laid the foundation for the fine musical education which he now enjoys. He followed this profession for ten years, visiting and reaping the musical advantages of all the cities of prominence in the United States. In 1887 he started in the plumbing business in Egan, South Dakota, where he also led and taught the Glenwood Band for two years. He then married and removed to Olympia, where he works diligently at his trade. Under his leadership the Capital City Band has acquired a proficiency that would do credit to an eastern metropolis. During the time Prof. Binheimer was on the road he was leader of the Prairie City Band of Prairie City, Iowa, and several other bands.
Mr. F.G. Blake [of the firm Whitham, Page and Blake] was for eleven years a successful railroad engineer, being in the employ during that time of the O.R. & N Co., the N.P.R.R., the U.P.R.R. and Hunt’s, and recently a member of the well known firm of Wold, Blake & Otness, civil engineers, Tacoma.
W. A. Botkin has lately established, at 609 Fourth street, in the new opera house building, a store which he has well stocked for the wholesale handling of the highest grades of wines, liquors and cigars. Though he has been in business here only since January 19, Mr. Botkin has established himself as one of Olympia’s most reliable tradesmen and gathered around him a class of custom which is in every way desirable. He guarantees all goods to be as represented. Among his brands of whisky are the Chesterfield, the Sterling Silver, the T. W. Samuels and the Salvator Storgo, Old Tom Burke, Hazelwood and many other choice brands for which Mr. Botkin holds the exclusive agency in the Northwest. His stock of wines both American and imported, has been selected with a completeness which would tempt an epicure, and his price on all classes of goods is extremely moderate when quality is taken into consideration.
Colonel Thomas Henderson Boyd although a resident of Tacoma is, by virtue of his appointment as special agent of the United States census department to collect manufacturing statistics of the state, with headquarters at Olympia, entitled to a place in the TRIBUNE’s gallery of prominent citizens. He was born in Pennsylvania thirty-four years ago and has been a resident of Washington two years. His father for many years has been recognized as one of the leading financiers and railroad magnates of the Keystone state, and his family on both sides since the days of Penn have been acknowledged leaders in society and in politics in the Eastern commonwealth. Colonel Boyd is a journalist by profession and has been connected with the leading papers of the state in positions of trust and emolument. He is a Republican in politics, and probably no newspaper man in Washington is so well or so widely known. He was recommnded by United States Senators Squire and Allen and Congressman Wilson for the office of collector of the port of Tacoma, but failed to secure the appointment because of a previous political quarrel with Collector Bradshaw. He was also a prominent candidate for the offices of United States Census Supervisor for the Western district, receiving the endorsement of 98 out of the 105 members of the legislature, and for both the Registership and Receivership of the Olympia land office. Latterly his name has been mentioned for the office of United States Surveyor General. When Hon. Walter J. Thompson was seeking the senatorship, a year and a half ago, he acted as that gentleman’s political manager, and in the late senatorial struggle he was one of Senator Squire’s most ardent supporters. At the present time he is a member of both the Pierce county Republican committee and the Republican city committee of Tacoma. Since coming to Washington Colonel Boyd has amassed considerable property.
James Brewer, senior member of the firm of Brewer & Wright, was born in Lane county, Oregon, March 20, 1859. In 1860 his parents moved to the southern part of Thurston county where his father took up land and engaged in stock raising. James was brought up on a farm and received a common school education. In 1884 he came to Olympia and engaged in the wholesale and retail butcher business. His firm is now doing business at 622 Fourth street, and is the largest wholesale dealer in dressed beef, mutton, pork, veal, poultry, etc., in the county. Mr. Brewer is a republican in politics and is an active member among the young men of that party. He is straight forward in business and has a bright future before him.
John S., a brother of James Brewer, was born on a farm in Thurston county, Washington, August 30, 1860, and like his brother obtained a common school education and a thorough knowledge of stock and stock raising. In 1883 he moved into Olympia and after serving an apprenticeship in the drug business gave his time and attention to the market and grocery business, part of the time looking after the retail departments of his brother’s business, which is now No. 622 Fourth street. It is a well-known fact that the Brewer boys are well versed and competent in every branch of the wholesale and retail butcher business.
Burgess W. Brintnall, superintendent of schools of this city, was born in Medina county, Ohio, on September 10, 1857. He was educated at Lenox College, in Iowa, and first commenced to teach in common schools in that state three years before he graduated from college in 1876. He took charge of graded schools in 1878, and has been employed in that work ever since, with the exception of about one year and a half. He came to this city in 1887, in answer to a telegraphic summons to come and take charge of Olympia’s schools. Under his fostering care the enrollment has increased from about 300 scholars to over 800, and the teacher from five to fourteen. The city has built $60,000 of new school buildings, the construction of which Mr. Brintnall has personally superintended. He was instrumental in organizing the state teachers’ association, and aided in securing the passage of the state school law, through the last legislature serving as chairman of the legislative committee of the above association. Superintendent Brintnall was married in 1880, and has three children. The efficient and thorough schools of this city owe no little to his untiring energy in their behalf.
Frank C. Brown was born in Canandaigua, N. Y., March 4, 1852, and in 1857 removed with his parents to St Joseph, Mich., where he spent his boyhood and youth, and obtained a common school education. At the age of twenty years he removed to Chicago, Ill., where he was employed in the various branches of the hat and cap business for seventeen years, spending a short time in each year traveling in the interest of his business. In January, 1889, he removed to Washington, and after spending some time in looking over the country, settled in Olympia, where, in connection with Mr. T. Z. Slater, he established the house of Slater & Brown, for the sale of clothing, hats, furnishing goods, boots and shores. The business was continued under that name until September of the same year, when Mr. Brown bought Mr. Slater’s interest and soon took in as a partner Mr. Charles A. Ferris, forming the present firm of Brown & Ferris, who are now conducting a prosperous business at 505 Main street.
Freeman W. Brown was born in Warren, Washington county, Vermont, September 2, 1832. Moved to Randolph, Cattaraugus county, New York, in 1850, and went to Iowa surveying government land in 1852-53. In 1854 he came to Oregon and from there to Olympia, being engaged as United States deputy surveyor. He served in Company B, Washington Territory volunteers, in the Indian war of 1855-56, after which he was with the United States topographical survey in the Rocky mountains until 1860. Explored the great basin of Snake river and the lake region of southeast Oregon and Idaho in 1861. Served in the Union army in the quartermasters’ department, from 1862 to the end of the war in 1865. Explored the passes in the Cascade mountains for the territory of Washington, from the Skagit, Salk and Suiatk rivers to the Wenachie river, Lake Chelan, Methow river and the Upper Columbia. In 1867, at Butte Ville, Oregon, he married Miss Ellen E. Mathiot, and then returned to Olympia, locating on a farm south of the city. In 1871 he taught the public school of Olympia. Was surveying United States government lands and county surveyor of Thurston county until 1881. Ran lines for reconnaissance and location for railroad route from Olympia to Gray’s Harbor, Shoal Water Bay and the mouth of the Columbia, from 1882 to 1885, since which time he has been engaged in mineral and geological surveys in the Cascade and Coast mountains, examining lands, inspecting timber, railroad engineering, and exploring and surveying Washington and Oregon. He located permanently in Olympia in 1887.
R.B. Bryan, the superintendent of public instruction and chairman of the board of education, was born in Hancock county, Ohio, August 1, 1842; son of Dr. E.L. Bryan; moved with his parents when ten years old to Johnson county Iowa; remained there four years; removed to West Mitchell, in Mitchell county, Iowa; remained there until 1852; attended the public schools in Ohio and Iowa until fourteen years of age; completed a course in the West Mitchell academy and entered the Cedar Valley seminary; enlisted in Third Iowa infantry in 1861; participated in the campaigns of Missouri and Tennessee until Sept. 1862; was discharged on account of ill heatlth; enlisted again in 1863 in the Seventh Wisconsin infantry and participated in all the campaigns of the army of the Potomac until Lee surrendered at Appomattox; was wounded at the battle of the Wilderness and again at Spotsylvania; commissioned a second lieutenant in 1865. After the war he was teaching until 1874; elected superintendent of schools of Linn county Kansas, for two terms; engaged in the newspaper business until September, 1884, when he came to the coast, and in January, 1886, settled in Olympia. In September, 1886, he was elected principal of the public schools of Montesano; in May, 1887, he was appointed superintendent of public schools of Chehalis county and held that position until March 4, 1889. In October 1889, he was elected state superintendent of schools, a position which he still holds.
The present rector of the Episcopal church, the Rev. Horace Hall Buck, was born in Hartford, Conn., June 28, 1855. He was graduated from the Hartford public high school in 1874, from Amherst college in 1878, and from the Berkeley Divinity school, Middletown, Conn., in 1882. He was assistant minister during his deaconate (1882-3) in St. Thomas’ church, New Haven, and was ordained priest in that church by Bishop Williams. Was rector of St. George’s church at Austin, Nevada, for three years, and of St. James’ church Eureka, Nev., for two years, leaving each place only on account of the failure of the mines and consequent inability of the town to support a minister. He was married June, 26, 1884, in Reno, Nev., to Harriet Grosvenor Sumner, formerly like himself of Hartford, Conn., by whom he has three sons. He has been rector of St. John’s church since 1888.
Mr. [L.R.] Byrne, county school superintendent, whose family is of Irish descent, was born July 12, 1867, near Granville, Jackson county, Tennessee. His boyhood was spent on his father’s farm, during which time he acquired a common school education. He afterwards entered the Jennings business college of Nashville, graduating in 1887 at the age of nineteen. He immediately returned to his native county and began his career as a teacher. In October following his graduation he left for Thurston county, Washington, arriving in Olympia the following month. He then began the pursuit of his chosen vocation and continued to be an earnest and energetic teacher in the common schools of the county up to November, 1890, when he, as the democratic nominee, was elected to the office of county school superintendent. In the administration of the affairs of his office he has shown himself to be fully identified with every interest tending to the good of the educational cause and of advantage to Thurston county.
Arthur L. Callow, city clerk of Olympia, was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, on May 10, 1869. He came to this state with his parents in 1872, settling in Mason county, and has resided here ever since. He followed ranching and logging when old enough to work, but determined to acquire a better education than the schools of his neighborhood afforded; came to Olympia in 1887 for that purpose. He returned home the following year, but came back here after a few months, and was engaged in clerking and book-keeping until he was elected to the position which he now holds, on December 20th last. His fitness and perfect understanding for the position has been amply shown since he has held it and he enjoys the distinction of being the youngest city clerk in the state, if not the country.
Thos. H. Cavanaugh was born in Vincennes, Knox county, Indiana, March 8, 1844; was removed to St. Louis, Missouri, in 1845, and to Jacksonville, Illinois, in 1850. His father was a printer and publisher. Tom assisted him until 1855, when he left home and went to Chicago. Here he worked on the Evening Journal and in several other offices, and later in St. Louis on the Missouri Democrat. He was in Illinois in 1860, and took part in the presidential campaign with a company of boy railsplitters. In 1861 he was clerk in an auditor’s office, and then went into the army for the month and three years’ service. Served in the Sixth Illinois cavalry and in the second military department until April, 1865. He then returned to Illinois and in that year married Miss Helen Holmes, of Springfield. In 1870 he removed to Kansas. In 1871 was clerk of ways and means committee of the Kansas legislature; 1872 assistant chief clerk of house; 1873 74 secretary of senate, and elected secretary of senate, and elected in 1876 and again in 1878; appointed register United States land office at Oberlin, Kansas, in 1881; resigned 1883, and came to Washington. At the time of his departure from Kansas, Mr. Cavanaugh was chairman of the congressional committee and secretary of state committee. From 1883 to January, 1885, he was special agent of the general land office, which he resigned and purchased the Puget Sound Courier and the Olympia Transcript, and began the publication of the Republican Partisan. He was a delegate to the republican national convention of 1888; member of the national committee, of the state committee, and of the executive committee, and president of the state league of republican clubs. He was appointed by President Harrison, in July, 1889, surveyor general of the Territory of Washington, and was reappointed for the state December 30, 1889.
The subject of this sketch [Answorth H. Chambers] is a native son of Washington, having been born on Chambers’ prairie, Thurston county, June 25, 1851, and is the present representative of his native county in Washington legislature. Though still on the better side of the prime of life, Mr. Chambers has lived to see the present State of Washington separated from Oregon and made a territory, and by means of its wonderful increase of population transplanted into the nation’s glory of states. His parents who were born in Missouri, were the pioneers of Thurston county, settling here in 1847, and are still living at their old homestead. Mr. Chambers’ boyhood was spent on the farm, and his early education was gleaned from the common schools. At the age of 19 he embarked in business for himself at Olympia. His shrewdness and business qualifications soon drew the attention of his fellow citizens, and he was called upon to serve his city as councilman, after which he became Olympia’s mayor, an office which he held for several terms. His business interests extend to several public enterprises, and the welfare of this city is always paramount to personal advantage. Naturally a student, Mr. Chambers has placed himself upon an equal footing with many who possessed collegiate advantages, which in his youth were unattainable in Washington, and he can safely be counted upon as one of Olympia’s staunchest citizens.
J. R. Chaplin, president of this company, is a living illustration of the possibilities of becoming a rich man in a short space of time in the wonderful Puget Sound country. Two years ago he came to Olympia with absolutely no capital at all. By judicious investment of his first earnings, carefully watching the real estate market, and placing his money here and there where it soon doubled, it was not long before he came to be looked upon as one of the progressive solid men of Olympia. Mr. Chaplin formerly occupied the pulpit of the Congregational church. He is a go-ahead man in every particular, and is the financial manager of the Congregational college which is to be established below Butler’s cove on the west side, and which he was mainly instrumental in bringing here. His partner, C. Thoreson, also a young man of good judgement and a thorough real estate man, is secretary and treasurer of the land company. Both are members of the board of trade, and active in all interests that affect the welfare of the state capital. Mr. Chaplin established brick yards in the vicinity of the city which gave employment to a large number of men. The land company own Woodruff’s addition on the west side and other tracts in the vicinity. Woodruff’s addition slopes gradually down to the shores of the bay, and is in full view of the whole city. One of the most beautiful mountain views is to be seen from this part of the city. Water has already been put into the streets here, and a great part of the avenues have been graded. A large part of the street improvements have been made, and many of the best known citizens of the city have either started residences there or will build during the coming summer, contracts having already been let for some very handsome private dwellings. The route for the new motor line has been surveyed through this addition, and this line will soon be in operation. Mr. Chaplin was born in Livingston county, Mich., on April 30, 1851. In early life he was a farmer, but at the age of 24 he entered Adrian college in his native state, and graduated in 1883. He then entered the ministry, in which calling he continued until 1890. He came to this state two years ago last January. On the organization of the Thurston County Land Company he was elected president, and in all that looks to the growth of his adopted city he takes an active interest. He is married and has four children.
Joseph Cheim, one of the city’s best known merchants, was born in Posen, Prussia, on August 14, 1857. He received his education in his native land, and until 1871 worked in a clothing store there. He then came to Marysville, California, and was employed for twelve years with his uncle, Joseph Lask, in the same line of business. In 1883, Mr. Cheim came to Puget Sound and settled in Olympia, where he started “The White House,” and stocked it with clothing, gents’ furnishings, trunks, etc., and his trade has been increasing steadily from that time until the present. In 1888, Mr. Cheim married Miss Rosa, daughter of J. W. Davis, of San Francisco, the well-known inventor of the patent riveted overalls, and the manager for Levi, Strauss & Co. He has one child. He was for several years treasurer of the I. O. O. F. Mr. Cheim is a pushing and enterprising merchant, who has won his own way in life by his sterling integrity and business sagacity. Mr. Cheim has built up a large trade in his several lines, though always carrying for his customers the best that the market affords. He has always been one of the city’s pushing and progressive citizens, and has always confidently asserted that the future of the city would be a glowing one.
Joseph Chilberg, city treasurer of Olympia, was born in Ottumwa, Wapello county, Iowa, on February 1, 1850. His early life was spent on a farm, and at the age of 21 he came to the Territory of Washington, settling in this city, where he engaged in the teaming and trucking business which he continued until 1875, when he went to school for a year. In 1876 he started in the grocery business as a clerk, and eighteen months later he engaged in the same line of business for himself, in which he continued until 1882, when he was burned out on Main street on the spot where he now has his office. He retired from business until 1887, when he became manager of a large grocery business opened by his father-in law, in which position he continued for about a year and a half, when the business was discontinued, and Mr. Chilberg engaged in the real estate business. He is now very largely interested in real estate in this vicinity, and owns and controls some of the best in Thurston county. He was elected to the position of city treasurer last December, and brings to this position a mind well trained for the important duties which he is called upon to perform. Mr. Chilberg is married and has one child, a girl of eleven years of age.
A. H. Christopher, of the firm of O. L. Branson & Co., investment bankers and real estate brokers, in the TRIBUNE building, was born at St. Croix Falls, Wisconsin, in 1866. He secured his education first in common schools; then was employed, at the age of 14, as clerk in a general store until 17 years of age, when he entered the Curtiss Business College, St. Paul. At this institution he finished his educational career, remaining there two years. When 19 he went into the mercantile business as senior member of the firm of Christopher bros., general merchandise, at St. Croix for two years, and afterwards occupying the same position with the firm at Avery, Wis., for one and one-half years. After a successful term of business Mr. Christopher moved westward with a view of doing better. He went to Idaho, passing a month in that state, the came to Washington, his object being to carefully and not too hurriedly select the best spot for a permanent home. He visited Portland and Astoria after coming to this state, then Gray’s Harbor and other points, and finally arrived at Olympia. The resources, facilities and advantages of this city, in his own language, “surpassed all other places I visited,” and it took no persuasion for him to remain here. Since his arrival Mr. Christopher has placed the “Summit” and “Evergreen Park” additions to Olympia on the market and invested in property in all parts of the city. He also owns property throughout the state. He has associated himself with an excellent firm and is on the high road to success, and is unmarried.
George F. Conger was born in Geneva, New York, July 4, 1860, where he graduated from Cornell college in the class of 1880. He then removed to Cleveland, Ohio, where he became a large stockholder in the A.S. Herenden Furniture company, and held the position of secretary for ten years. Having read of the resources of Washington, in February, 1890 he came to Olympia and formed a copartnership under the firm name of Scammell & Conger, doing a real estate and loan business. Mr. Conger has largely invested and is much interested in the industries of Olympia, and is one of Olympia’s most prominent young and active citizens.
Lawrence Cormier, the proprietor [of the Gold Bar restaurant], is a native of Bathurst, New Brunswick. He started west some eight years ago, and after staying in Wisconsin about eleven months, came directly to Olympia. He is an enterprising and energetic man and has built up more than one lucrative business. The large number of peole who are fed daily at the Gold Bar restaurant is conclusive proof that this place is popular. Mr. Cormier is a partner in the grocery and provision business at 518 Fourth street, which is carried on under the firm name of Conachy & Cormier. He is also interested in the Palace Market at 414 Fourth street. His business success has been due to his own efforts and he is to-day one of Olympia’s most respected citizens.
Rev. Luther Covington, A.M., principal of the Olympia Collegiate Institute, was born in Centreville, Maryland, May, 1860. His parents removed to Indiana in 1863, and to Arkansas in 1875. He has an all-absorbing thirst for knowledge, studied under difficulties and great personal sacrifices in Judson university in 1878; in Little Rock high school in 1879 and ’80; in Little Rock university from its establishment in 1882 until he graduated in the classical course in the first regular graduating class in 1886. During his college course he acquired experience in teaching during summer vacations, and after graduating took charge of a school at Ellsworth of 140 pupils, which he conducted successfully. Accepting a call to preach he entered the Boston university, the school of theology, in 1887, and received the degree of Bachelor of Sacred Theology in 1890, and in the same year his Alma Mater conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts. Trusting that the call was from Almighty God he accepted the principalship of the Olympia Collegiate Institute in 1890. Though finding the situation critical in the extreme the prophycy of grand future possibilities inspired him and his helpful and efficient instructors until a large prosperity crowned their efforts. Between 125 and 150 students have enrolled and several students will form a most creditable first year’s graduating class. The revival in the Methodist church extended to the institute and more than fifteen students were graciously converted to God. The zealous loyalty of the patrons bespeaks an ever increasing prosperity.
E. E. Crego, of the firm of McDonald & Crego, was born at Gaines, Orleans county, New York, January 20, 1862. In the fall of 1865 his parents removed with him to Albion, N. Y., where his boyhood was spent. In 1881 he was graduated from the Albion Union high school preparatory to entering college. In 1882 he removed to Rochester and entered upon the study of pharmacy, which he followed for one year with intention of ultimately becoming a physician. After years’ work he decided to abandon his idea of a medial as well as a professional life, and in 1883 accepted a position in the construction department of the U. S. light house service, in connection with the eleventh light house district on Lake Superior, from which he was transferred to the tenth district on lakes Erie, Ontario and St. Lawrence river. Returning from this work Mr. Crego taught school at his native home for two years and in April, 1889, removed to the State of Washington where he occupied himself with newspaper work. Later he was wanted as assistant in the state treasurer’s office which position he only filled for a short time as he interests in realty demanded his time and attention, and in 1890, with his present partner, established the firm of McDonald & Crego, which firm by its reliability has rendered itself prominent in a large number of Olympia’s most profitable transactions, and has given it a precedence worthy of confidence of all.
A. G. Cushman was born September 25, 1868, at Otsego, Allegan county, Michigan; was educated at the high school of Otsego, Mich., commercial college, Valparaiso, Ind., and Michigan state normal school, Ypsilanti, graduating from the last named institution in June, 1887. After completing his education he was engaged two years as cashier for the banking house of W. C. Edsell & Son in his native town. In the spring of 1889 he came to this city, and has been engaged in the real estate business, and has succeeded in making some good investments, prominent among which is a valuable piece of water front property on the east side near the city, to the improvement of which he is giving his attention at the present time, intending to make it a first class prune orchard.
Rev. C. L. Diven, A. M., B. D., pastor of the First Congregational church of Olympia, was born in Kentucky in 1854. He graduated with the highest honors at the University of Missouri in 1880, then studied theology two years in Union Theological Seminary in New York city, and later at Cambridge, Mass. In 1883 he received the degree of bachelor of theology from Harvard University and master of arts from the University of Missouri. He spent nearly two years in foreign study and travel, studying at the universities of Leipzig and Berlin and at the Sorbonne at Paris. He has had two pastorates previous to coming to Olympia, both of which were markedly successful, one in Butte City, Montana, and the other in Plantsville, Connecticut – and prominent New England church of nearly 400 members.
One of the most familiar faces about the streets and public places of Olympia during the session of the legislature, was that of Martin Batcheldor Dunbar, a sturdy pioneer. Judge Dunbar, as he is known among his townspeople where he has been elected justice of peace, is proud in being able to boast that he is one of the original forty-niners. He was born in Maine, September 21, 1820, and shortly afterward moved to Bangor with his parents, where he lived until he was 25 years old. He first left his pleasant home here to go to Boston to attend the consecration of the Bunker Hill monument. He remembers distinctly having met the president, and heard the oration of Daniel Webster delivered on that occasion. The Judge’s father was a manufacturer of doors, sashes and blinds, and his son learned the trade, but in 1844 he went west as far as Chicago, where he worked on the great Catholic cathedral for a year. Then he went to live in Lockport, Ill., until 1848. In the same year he returned to Bangor, and engaged passage in the schooner Eudorus, captain Charles Wiggin, around Cape Horn, stopping on his way at Rio and Juan Fernandez. The schooner arrived at San Francisco in September, 1849. For eleven years he resided in California, for two years he lived in Oregon, then for six years in Idaho, seven years in Wyoming and Utah, and for another three years in British Columbia on the Arctic slope. For the last eleven years he has made his home on the Skagit river, in Skagit county, in the town of Mount Vernon, and is probably the only forty-niner living in the county. When 60 years old he married, and his wife is still living at Mount Vernon, where his home is. He spent much of his time while at Olympia, receiving old acquaintances, and entertaining friends with reminiscences from a great fund of fascinating experiences.
T. V. Eddy was born on a farm in McHenry county, Illinois, October 23, 1853. He was educated in the common schools and the Elgin (Illinois) academy, from which last named institution he graduated with high honors at the age of eighteen years. He then commenced the study of law under the tutorship of Hon. A. B. Coon, of Marenge, Illinois, and pursued the same for five years, while still residing and laboring on the father’s farm, and was admitted to the bar in that state in October, 1880. Mr. Eddy stumped Illinois for Garfield in 1880, and in 1880-81 was clerk of the Illinois senate. In the summer of 1881 he removed to Watertown, South Dakota, where he engaged and continued in the practice of his profession until he removed to Washington two years ago. He took a prominent part in the organization of a state government for South Dakota in 1885, and was speaker of the house of representatives under the samo, and was sent as a delegate to Washington, D. C., to urge upon congress and the president the necessity and justice of the admission of South Dakota to the Union, being unanimously chosen to deliver the address to the president, which he did. Col. Eddy took a prominent part in the last presidential campaign for the republican ticket, speaking throughout the State of Minnesota and part of Iowa. In the first state campaign of Washington, a year and a half ago, he did similar work for that party throughout the state. He has been a resident of Olympia about eighteen months, and is engaged in the practice of the law, being the senior member of the firm of Eddy, Gordon & Skillman. Col. Eddy stands in the front rank of his profession as an advocate and trial lawyer. His manner before a jury is very impressive and forceful, while his arguments are logical and replete with illustrations and rhetorical adornment. As a orator he has no superior in the Northwest. His future is a very bright one.
Arthur Ellis, the wholesale and retail dealer in furniture, bedding and carpets, was born in Norfolk, England, March 24, 1850, and moved to Sunderland, in the north of England, in 1852. After getting a common school education, he worked at the ship carpenter’s trade until he was eighteen years of age, when he removed to America. He worked in the mines in Idaho and Utah until 1879. He then settled in Boise City, Idaho, where he worked at house carpentering and cabinet work until 1884, when he removed to the Sound country, where, after trying Tacoma and other towns, he settled down in Olympia, and started a job shop, where he repaired and made all kids of furniture, and by hard work and good management worked up the leading furniture house in Olympia. By buying goods in car load lots,, direct from the factories in the east, he is prepared to compete with any house on the Sound, and at his store, corner of Main and Third street, will be found a complete line of parlor and bedroom furniture; also a good line of carpets, linoleum and baby carriages.
William K. Esling was born in Philadelphia February 19, 1868. After a seven years’ course he graduated from Girard College in 1883, and was apprenticed to Jas. Grant, a book printer, with whom he remained three years. He then became connected with the Philadelphia Record until the fall of 1889, when he came to Washington. On the funding of the Olympia TRIBUNE, Mr. Esling was made city editor, which position he still fills. He is an active member of the Masonic fraternity, and also the secretary of the Olympia board of trade, and will gladly furnish any desired information regarding the capital city of the State of Washington on.
Robert G. Esterly conducts the only planing mill in Tumwater, and besides handling the local trade, has a good order business throughout the county. He manufactures all kinds of dressed lumber, molds door and window frames, doors, blinds, turnings, scroll work, etc., of superior quality. His mill being located on the line of the railroad, he has excellent facilities for supplying building materials at as low figures as can be had in this section. Mr. Esterly has resided in Tumwater twelve years, off and on, and is highly esteemed by his fellow-towns-men, by whom he was elected a member of the board of trustees in 1889.
Charles A. Ferris was born in Erie, Pa., September 8, 1866, and with his parents soon removed to Essex., N.Y., where he spent his early boyhood. At the age of fourteen he was sent to the New York military academy, New York city, and in 1882 entered Columbia college. After finishing his course in college Mr. Ferris made a short tour through the west and returning to New York, associated himself with Orlando Kellogg in the hotel business, being located in the Adirondack mountains in the summer, and Florida in the winter. In October, 1889, he came to Tacoma, which place his parents had adopted as a home. Being deeply impressed with the resources of the great northwest he located at Olympia after spending three months in looking over the Sound country, and in February, 1890, he formed a copartnership with Mr. F.C. Brown in the clothing, furnishing, boot and shoe business. Messrs. Brown & Ferris are doing a rapidly increasing business at 505 Main street. Mr. Ferris, although a young man, has identified himself with the leading business men of Olympia, and is an active and energetic member of society and the fraternal organizations.
Elisha P. Ferry, Governor of Washington, was born at Monroe, Michigan, August 9, 1825; studied law there and at Fort Wayne, Indiana, and was admitted to the bar in 1845, at the age of 20 years. In 1846 he removed to Waukegan, Illinois, where he engaged in the practice of his profession. He resided at Waukegan until July, 1869, when he removed to the territory of Washington. He was the first mayor of the city of Waukegan. In 1852 and in 1856 he was presidential elector for the district in which he resided. He was a member of the constitutional convention in Illinois in 1861. From 1861 to 1863 he was bank commisioner in that state. During these years he was a member of Governor Yates’ staff, as assistant adjutant-general, with the rank of colonel, and assisted in organizing, equipping, and sending into the field a large number of Illinois regiments. In 1869 he was appointed surveyor-general of Washington territory. In 1872 he was appointed governor of the territory, and reappointed in 1876. All of these appointments were conferred upon him by President Grant. He served as governor until November, 1880, when he removed to Seattle, and became a member of the law firm of McNaught, Ferry, McNaught & Mitchell. In September 1887, he retired from the practice of law and entered the Puget Sound National Bank as vice president. On the 4th of September, 1889, he was nominated by the Republican party for governor of the state, and on the 1st of October was elected to that office. Governor Ferry was married February 4th, 1849 to Miss Sarah B. Kellogg, of Waukegan, Illinois, and has five children — three sons and two daughters. James P., the eldest son, is connected with the Seattle Daily Times. Lincoln P. is now traveling in the East. Pierce P., the youngest of the family, is attending the Michigan University, at Ann Arbor. His daughters are Lizzie P. and Julia P., both residing with him. Governor Ferry has been a strong, consistent republican since the organization of the party, and was a member of the first republican convention held in the United States. The governor is an active member of the Episcopal church. His health was such that he has been obliged, during the past few months, to seek recuperation in Southern California, but is now on the fair road to recovery, and his hosts of friends all over the state expect to see him among them again in a very short time.
A. P. Fitch, city attorney of Olympia, was born in Ypsilanti, Michigan, on November 11, 1839. In 1860 he entered the law office of George H. Parker, at Davenport, Iowa, where he remained until October of the following year, when he enlisted in company K. 11th regiment Iowa infantry, and served three years, serving with distinction. After the war he located at Hastings, Minnesota, and resumed the study of law in the office of Clagget & Crosby, being admitted to the bar in 1866. He was elected justice in that place, serving two years, and in 1868 removed to Glencoe. He was elected county attorney of McLeod county that fall, and held that position for two years, after which he gave his whole attention to his rapidly increasing law practice. In 1875 he was elected to the state legislature and in the following year was again elected county attorney, serving this time for three successive terms. In 1886 he was elected judge of probate. He was elected town clerk of Glencoe in 1875, and held that position for five successive years, and was on the school board there for many years. He came to Washington in September, 1889, and was elected city attorney of the capital city the present year. He is married, and has one child. He is a member of the Masons, and of the A. O. U. W.
L. E. Follansbee was born in Danbury, New Hampshire, in 1853, and has been identified with the cause of education all his life. He came to Washington eight years ago, since which time he was for four years principal of the high school and superintendent of public instruction of Olympia; president of Collegiate Institute for three years; edited the Northwest Teacher and Educational Journal for four years; conducted all the summer institutes throughout the state for seven years during three months each summer; was a member of the state board of education for four years. Mr. Follansbee has normal graduates in almost every county in the state who are now engaged in teaching, and business graduates in almost every town in Western Washington. He is now president and principal of Calethea College, a description of which will be found in another column.
Councilman R. A. Ford was born in Marshall county, Tenn., in April, 1852, and removed with his parents, W. T. and Ester L. Ford, to Arkansas in 1854. His boyhood life was spent on the farm. He attended the public schools and finished his education at the State University. He taught school for awhile near the old homestead, and in 1875 went to Barber county, Missouri, where he pursued his profession as teacher, demonstrating his special ability and adaptation for the work, and growing in favor with the people. He filled the offices of township collector and assessor, and in 1878 he was elected to the office of county clerk, which position he held for four years, making a fine record for honesty, faithfulness and efficiency and retired to his farm with confidence of the public whom he had served with impartial fidelity. At the earnest solicitation of his former patrons he again entered the school room. Taught a number of terms, giving the highest satisfaction. In 1888 he conducted the grammar department of the Arkansas summer assembly, and was urged by the managers and patrons to continue in this position, but declined on account of removing to Washington. He came to this city two years ago, bought property, and at once identified himself with the people. He brought letters of commendation from the county officers, representatives, senator and prominent business men of his county. Mr. Ford is a valuable acquisition to our city and state. He has already been chosen by a large vote to represent his ward in the city council, and in serving his constituency with great satisfaction and the city efficiently. Mr. Ford possesses those elements of character and qualification which command the confidence of the people and make him a popular and efficient public officer. He has come to make this his home, is in the full vigor of young manhood, and has a promising future before him. We are glad to welcome him and all such to the capital city, and open the door to the largest opportunity.
The Rev. T. B. Ford, D. D., the present pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal church of this city, is a native of Tennessee. He is the oldest son of Wm. T. Ford and E. L. Ford, who emigrated to Arkansas when he was about six years old. He grew up on a farm and enjoyed the pursuits of rural life. He attended the common schools of the country and improved the best educational advantages within this reach. He made a profession of religion in 1867, and in the spring of the following year entered the mini try of the Methodist Episcopal church, and was assigned to a charge in Arkansas which at that time belonged with Missouri. At the end of his fourth year in the conference he was appointed by Bishop Scott presiding elder. He assisted in the organization of the Arkansas conference in 1873, and remained a member of that body until last year, when he transferred to the Puget Sound conference. He served his old conferences acceptably as presiding elder for nearly four terms, as pastor of some of the principle churches, and as the financial agent of the Little Rock University. He was elected by his conference to three successive general conferences, and was chosen twice by the general conference as a member of the general missionary and church extension committees, in which capacity he served his district and the church with great efficiency, securing a large increase in both the appropriations and collections. In 1884, Mr. Ford was nominated by the republican party of his state, for the office of state superintendent of public instruction. In 1888 the Chattanooga, now the United States Grant University, conferred on him the degree of D. D., which he wears with becoming modesty. At the last session of the Puget Sound conference he was appointed by Bishop Newman to the First Church in Olympia, and entered upon the work with great vigor, bringing to his new charge the benefits of his wide experience. Aside from his work as pastor, Mr. Ford takes great interest in the causes of education and reform, he is an earnest advocate of the public school system, and of denominational higher education, he is enthusiastic for the highest intellectual culture, the highest spiritual experience and attainment, and the rigid maintenance of evangelical standards as the only means of the permanent elevation of humanity. Dr. Ford comes to the coast highly recommended as an able preacher, and his services in this city are being highly appreciated by his congregation and the general public.
Prof. [Albion L.] Francis was born at Brainard, Vermont, in 1842, and at the age of three accompanied his parents to St. Charles, Illinois. In the spring of 1852 his family started across the continent, accompanying a wagon train which followed the Platte trail to Green River, Wyoming, where they branched off to the Oregon trail, and after six months of weary traveling arrived at Oregon City. The remainder of Prof. Francis’ boyhood was spent on a farm near that place, and his early education was limited to the resources of a country school. While yet a mere lad he developed a wonderful love for music, which his puritanical parents strongly objected to, for which reason his early studies in the divine art were prosecuted under many difficulties; but, notwithstanding the objection of his family circle, the undaunted young musician, by means of secret practice in hay lofts and garrets, and the possession of a limited though dearly cherished musical library, so far perfected himself that at the age of twenty-three he left his home and took a position in Salem, Oregon, as an instructor in music. Here his great natural talents rapidly asserted themselves; and among other things he organized the Salem band, during which work he played at sight upon brass instruments which had heretofore been utter strangers to him. With a musical reputation thoroughly founded, in 1874 Prof. Francis removed to Portland, Oregon, where he organized what was then the finest military band in the northwest. In 1880 the professor removed to Victoria, B. C., and spent five years in instructing the queen’s subjects in musical matters, after which he returned to Portland and remained five years. In 1888 he left Portland for Southern California, stopping in Los Angeles, where he perfected himself in orchestral playing under Prof. A. W. Wilharting and Emil Seifert. In 1890 his love for the northwest returned him hither, and he selected Olympia as his abiding place, where he has rapidly established himself in the hearts of the music loving public. Prof. Francis’ career has at every point stamped him as an artist richly endowed, and besides his wonderful instrumental work, he is the author of several well known compositions, among which is “Beautiful Lena,” and the temperance anthem, “The blue-ribbon war song,” Prof. Francis is also well informed on the construction of all musical instruments, and is himself the possessor of several old and highly valued violins.
Robert Frost was born at Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England, October 25, 1835. Was educated at St. John’s Wood National School, London. At the age of 15 he was apprenticed to a builder, from whom he ran away early in 1853, and went to sea. As a sailor he visited every country except the East Indies. On New Year’s day, 1856, he crossed the Columbia bar, at the time being a sailor on the old brig Susan Abigail, afterwards sunk by the Shenandoah. Mr. Frost lived a while in Portland, Oregon City and The Dalles, chiefly engaged at mason work. In 1858 he went to the Frazer river mines, British Columbia, with the McLaughlin party, and helped to fight a way through the Indians; was in the fight in McLaughlin’s canyon, Okanogan river. Having been starved out at mining on Frazer river, he worked his way to Olympia and landed here in 1858, “flat broke,” and could not go any further. He worked at anything he could get to do. For three years he set type in the Standard office. In 1862 he married Miss Louisa Holmes, of Olympia, and the union has been blessed with four children. Mr. Frost started a hardware store in 1871, and still continues in that business. He was county coroner for seven years; at different times member of the city council; is one of the directors of the Capital National Bank; member of the board of trade, and president of the Olympia Gas and Electric Light Company. He began in Olympia without a penny, and is to-day prosperous in business, owns considerable property and is one of our most esteemed citizens. A proper sketch of his life would fill pages of this “Souvenir.”
George Gelbach was born in Pennsylvania about 45 years ago, and in 1865, after a common school education, emigrated to Wisconsin, where he remained five years. In May, 1870, Mr. Gelbach removed to Washington Territory and settled at Tumwater, bought the middle falls, built the Washington Flour Mill and successfully operated a flour milling business until 1890, when he sold to the Olympia Electric Light and Power company and engaged in the real estate business, and is now handling choice business and residence property on reasonable terms. Mr. Gelbach is one who always takes an interest in public affairs and is propertly known as the father of Tumwater.
Milton Giles was born in Lowell, Mass., in 1842. He was educated at the Baptist Theological Institute in New Hampshire, and at the age of fourteen years removed with his parents to Dixon, Ill. At the breaking out of the civil war, Mr. Giles enlisted in the Thirteenth Illinois infantry, under the first call for troops. He served with distinction and valor three years and three months, participating in twenty-two different battles in ten different Southern states. Mr. Giles was under Grant at Vicksburg, and had the honor of being the first “Yankee” to enter that city after the surrender. He fought with Gen. Hooker at Lookout Mountain, in the battle above the clouds, and was one of the 242 to return to Springfield, Ill., of the remainder of the 1,000 brave men who went to the front at their country’s call. After the war Mr. Giles engaged in railroading on the United States military roads, and on the Illinois Central railroad, but resigned and engaged in farming. Here he made a dire failure, and then went to Virginia City, Nevada, in the palmy days of that great mining center. He made considerable money there and left it where he found it, and came to Olympia, where he engaged in the meat, vegetable and fish market business, purchasing the old Farmer’s market at the corner of Fifth and Main Streets. Here he has made quite a success. Mr. Giles married at Monticello, Iowa, Miss Mary A. Lammon, sister of J.M. Lammon, of this city, and has five children, four boys and one daughter. He resides in a very comfortable if not pretentious dwelling at the corner of Ninth and Jefferson streets.
Herbert L. Gill was born at Duffryn Mawr, Chester county, Pa., September 4, 1857. He received his education in West Chester and Philadelphia, and has been a publisher since 1878. Was proprietor of papers in eastern Pennsylvania, several weeklies and a daily in the heart of the Rockies in southwestern Colorado for three years, then five years in southwestern Kansas, publishing and owning five papers. Was elected to the Kansas legislature in 1886 on the Republican ticket. In the early part of 1890 he came to Olympia and will permanently remain. Upon his arrival he assisted in starting the Daily Olympia Tribune and assumed the business management. In March last, with Major C.M. Bartin, his father-in-law, he leased the paper, and his long journalistic experience insures the success of the venture. Mr. Gill will continue as business manager of the paper.
Among the later additions to the business firms of Olympia is that of Rose & Godard, who, late in the year 1890, opened their handsome and magnificantly stocked jewelry and optical salesroom at 222 Fourth street… Both the member of this firm are young and energetic business men, and besides their qualifications as affable salesmen, they are both practical watchmakers, having gained their experience by years of service in the great watch factories of Waltham, Mass., Elgin, Ill., and Lancaster, Pa. … Mr. [W.C.] Godard, the junior member of the firm, has located permanently in Olympia, having moved hither with his family shortly after the opening of their magnificant establishment.
John F. Gowey, ex-mayor of Olympia, was born in Champaign county, Ohio, on December 7, 1846, and commenced life as a clerk in a general merchandise store. He afterwards entered the Ohio Wesleyan university at Delaware, Ohio, and studied law with Gen. John H. Young, at Urbana, Ohio. In 1872 he was elected to the Ohio legislature, and his course while a member of that body was such that he was re-elected to the same office by his fellow citizens. In 1876 he was elected prosecuting attorney of Champaign, and in 1878 was re-elected to the same office. In 1880 he was a delegate to the republican national convention at Chicago that nominated Garfield for the presidency. In April, 1882, he was appointed by Preisdent Arthur register of the United States land office at Olympia, which position he held until August, 1886, when his term of office expired and he resumed the practice of law. In November of that year he was elected a member of the territorial counsel. In 1887 he was elected president of the First National bank, and resigned that position a few months ago. In 1889 he was elected mayor of Olympia, and in May following was sent as delegated to the constitutional convention. He is a Free and Accepted Mason, also 32nd degree Scottish Rite Mason, member of Royal Arch Masons, also K. of P. Taking into consideration his extensive private interests, his prominent part in the business, social, political and fraternal organizations of the community, it would be difficult to find a busier man in the capital city today than John F. Gowey, her popular ex-mayor. Mr. Gowey has been married twice; first to Clara McDonald of Woodstock, Champaign county, Ohio, April 25, 1867, by whom he had one child, Frank McDonald Gowey, born January 4, 1869. On November 3, 1886, he married his present wife, Miss Georgiana Stevens, a native of Boston, but since 1866 a resident of Olympia. Mr. Gowey was nominated by President Harrison in 1890, and confirmed as minister to Japan, but declined on account of private business.
John W. Hanna, lesse [sic] and manager of the Olympia theater, was born December 2, 1848, in Freeport, Harrison county, Ohio, where he spent his boyhood and obtained a common school education. In 1866, at the age of eighteen, he went to Mattoon, Ill., and established himself in the book and staionery business, also managing the local theater until 1889. In 1870 Mr. Hanna married Miss Mary E. Henderson, and they now have three daughters and one son. In 1889 Mr. Hanna came to Tacoma and took the management of the New Tacoma opera house.
The New Olympia Theater
The Olympia theater was built in 1890 by Mr. John Miller Murphy, the editor and sole proprietor of the oldest newspaper in the State of Washington. The theater is under the control of the lessee and sole manager, Mr. John W. Hanna, the well known “Puget Sound” theatrical manager, who is also lessee and sole manager of the Seattle opera house, Seattle, Wash., and is the only one that books companies and plays them in the principal theaters of the far Northwest. Mr. Hanna has had years of experience in the theatrical business, and has as thorough and practical a knowledge of it as any one in the profession. He is an honest, reliable business man, young in years and full of energy. He was the first manager of the new theater at Tacoma, and voluntarily severed his connection with the house upon its changing ownership, so that he now gives his whole time and attention to his two theaters and his other amusement enterprises…
Gus Harris, of the dry goods and clothing concern of I. Harris & Sons, was born in Walla Walla, Wash., April 3, 1864, and soon removed with his parents to New York, and in 1870 moved with his parents to Olympia. He received his schooling in Olympia, and in Portland, Oregon, after which he was employed in business with his father.
In January 1888 he was taken in partnership with a third interest and has since shown business energy and tact in building up the large and prospering house which keeps apace with all eastern markets in dry goods, carpets, clothing, boots, shoe, etc.
Mitchel Harris was born in Salem, Oregon, September 18, 1862, and obtained his schooling in Olympia and Portland, Oregon, after which he was engaged in the mercantile business in Colfax, Washington. In 1882 Mr. Harris was employed by his father in the general dry goods business, and in 1888 was taken in co-partnership with his father and brother. The present concern of I. Harris & Sons are carrying on one of the largest clothing houses in Washington.
Capt. Z.J. Hatch was born on a farm in Southerland county, New York, June 15, 1846, where he spent his boyhood and received a common school education. In 1807 he removed to Ellenville, Ulster county, New York, where as principal he took chage of the public school with eight hundred scholars. In the summer of 1870 he resigned that position and was teller in the First National bank until Ausut 4, 1872, when he resigned from the bank and came to Portland, Oregon. Entering first the employ of the Northern Pacific railroad company as civil engineer at Kalama, Washington territory, and then book keeper in Portland for Wasserman & Co., and for one year in charge of the Tacoma Sand company in Tacoma. He started in September, 1874, for Virginia City, but in Portland he met Capt. N.B. Scott and at once accepted the position of purser on the steamboat Ohio, which he held for one year, and then became interested as a partner in the City of Salem, on which he run as purser for a year. In 1876 the business department of this company, the Willamette River Steamboat company, was given in charge of Mr. Hatch, which he carried on until the company sold to the W.V. & C.R.R. Co., in 1879. Mr. Hatch then leased the Pacific docks and carried on a large wheat and shipping business until the winter floods of 1881 washed away the whole of his business. He then bought and run the steamboat A.A. McCully, on the Willamette River and built the Yaquina. In 1882 he returned to his early home and married Miss Addie A., daughter of Col. I.P. Tremaine, president of the Union National Bank of Ellenville. Upon his return he continued steamboating on the Willamette river until November, 1886, when he bought an interest in the Fleetwood and brought her to Puget Sound, where she plied between Olympia, Tacoma and Seattle until February of the year when the Columbia River and Puget Sound Navigation company was formed, when Capt. Hatch became master of the Bailey Gatzert. This company own and operate the following steamboats: Telephone, between Portland and Astoria; Fleetwood, between Tacoma, Seattle and Port Townsend and the Bailey Gatzert, between Olympia, Tacoma and Seattle.
Louis F. Henderson was born in Boston, Mass., on Sept. 17, 1853. His education was received in the high school at New Orleans, Louisiana; at the Miles Military Academy, Brattleboro, Vermont; high school, Ithaca, New York, and at Cornell University, New York, graduating from the latter in 1874. During the last years of his college course Mr. Henderson taught school in New York state and after his graduation he accepted a position as instructor in McClure’s Military Academy at Oakland, Cal., where he stayed one year. He then went to Oregon and for a year taught school in Lane county, after which he taught in the Collegiate Institute at Albany in that state. A year afterwards he went to Portland, where he was located until he come [sic] to this city in November, 1889. He was the principal of the high school in Portland, resigning that position to come to Olympia to engage in the real estate business with his brother. Mr. Henderson is well known all over the Pacific coast as a botanist and last year accompanied the government expedition into the Olympian mountains in that capacity. He has one of the finest herbariums in the state at his residence in this city. Mr. Henderson married, in 1883, Miss Kate Robinson, of Lockport, New York, and has two children. He is interested in real estate all over Thurston county and carries on an abstract and fire insurance in connection with his real estate business.
The present pastor of the First Unitarian church, Rev. Napoleon Hoagland, is a native of Illinois. His birthplace was on a farm in the southern part of Shelby county, one of the south-central counties of the state. He attended district school a few months each year as opportunity offered, till he fitted himself for a teacher, which occupation he followed for nearly six years. Then he entered the Unitarian Theological school at Meadville, Pa., and after a four years’ course he graduated in 1885. Within a month from commencement day he had accepted work in a parish in Greeley,Col. Here he remained till 1887 when he left to take charge of a new movement in Wichita, Kan. Here a new church was duly organized and here he remained till called to Olympia. Soon after his arrival in Olympia he married Miss Julia Cornley, a native of Worcester, England. The wedding took place at Portland. Dr. Eliot, the old friend of the society, performing the ceremony.
S.R. Hogin is a native of the Hawkeye state, having been born in Sigourney, Keokuk county, Iowa. His grandfather, Hon. James L. Hogin, a well known pioneer, came to Iowa when that state was yet an unsubdued wilderness. He was a noble representative of the generation that settled and made Iowa one of the best states in the union, and was a member of the Iowa senate in 1854. The father of the subject of this sketch, came to Iowa in the forties, and was for forty years a leading and successful businessman; and the old home, where the family has resided for more than forty-two years, is yet known as one among the best and most hospitable of Iowa homes. J.C. Hogin was regarded as a man of sterling worth, and in the business, social and political circles enjoyed a wide acquaintance and numbered among his intimate personal friends United States Senators Harland, Kirkwood, and Wilson; the galliant Gen. M.M. Crocker; the eminent political leader John H. Bear; the brilliant and loyal ex-Gov. W.M. Stone; the well known Iowa attorneys Woodin, Mackey ans Sampson; and belonged to that class of sturdy pioneers who by their faith and works laid the foundation of Iowa’s greatness. He was a member of the Iowa senate in 1864.
S.R. Hogin received his early education in the schools of his native place. Later he attended Eastman College, Poughkeepsie, N.Y. and graduated in the centennial year, 1886. Returning to his native city, he entered as a student the law office of his brother-in-law, Hon. J.A. Donnell, and was admitted to the bar in 1878. Mr. Hogin has always taken an active interest in politics, being a sturdy Republican, and for many years represented his county in the district and state conventions, and attended the national convention at Chicago in 1880. In 1884 he removed to Kansa and located at Wakeeney, Trego county. Was a member of the firm of Danford & Hogin, one of the leading law firms of the Twenty-third judicial district. During this time Mr. Hogin established his reputation as an able and reliable lawyer, and was retained in many important cases, notably the case of the State vs. Fellows, being employed by Trego county in the prosecution of Chas. A. Fellows for the murder of his young wife, a case of unusual interest, as it was the first case in that district in which the murderer received the death penalty. While enjoying a lucrative practice in the courts, Mr. H. was recognized as one of the leading and most successful land attorneys in the Wakeeney land district, at that time one of the busiest in the United States. Mr. Hogin came to Washington in 1889; was admitted to practice in Cowlitz county before Judge Bloomfield; located in this city in the fall of 1890, and has great faith in the future of Olympia. Mr. Hogin has many of the elements necessary for a successful career; an experienced lawyer, possessing a bright intellect, a generous dispotion, withal a genial courteous gentleman. He has already established a good business and gained many friends who predict for him a brilliant and useful career, and an honorable place among the progressive citizens of the capital city of this commonwealth.
C.F. Holton, proprietor of “The Holton,” was born in Boston, Massachusetts, on July, 21, 1848. It was in 1877 that he came to Washington and in 1884 located in this city, and has resided here ever since. He opened “The Holton” on October 12, 1886, and fitted it up in magnificant style to compare favorable with any similar establishment in the state. In all that pertains to the advancement of the city of Olympia, and in all that has for its object the growth of the town, he takes a deep interest.
James C. Horr, mayor of Olympia, was born in Waitsfield, Washington county, Vermont, on January 17, 1832, but moved with his parents to Loraine county, Ohio, when only two years of age. He was brought up on a farm, and worked hard during his younger days. At the age of 21 he went to Australia to seek his fortune, and remained in that country for twelve years. He was in the mines in and around Ballarat, and during the latter part of his stay there he was the superintendent of Cobb & Company’s coach lines, that run to Ballarat and through the western country, this company operating the largest stage line in the world. In 1865 he returned home, and with his brother operated the largest cheese factory in the state of Ohio. The climate there not agreeing with him, he moved to California in 1868, and until 1872 he was engaged in ranching in Santa Cruz county, in that state. In the latter year he was appointed special agent of the treasury department, and was stationed at San Francisco and Port Townsend. He held this position until 1885, when under the Cleveland administrtion in 1885, he was one of the first men removed. During the latter part of his incumbency he had charge of the district including the state of Oregon and the territories of Washington and Alaska. He then went into the grain and feed business in this city, in which he has continued ever since. In 1876, Mr. Horr was elected mayor of Olympia, and in 1877 he represented this district in the legislature. He was re-elected to his present position last December. His fitness for the position that he now holds has been exemplified in many cases, and ever since his residence here he has been indefatigable in his efforts for Olympia’s growth and prosperity. He is married but has no children, his only child having died while he was a resident of California. Mayor Horr has always been a staunch republican in politics, and has done yeoman service for that party, although never allowing politics to interfere with the discharge of his duties as a public officer.
Frank A. Howard, one of the few persons now residing in this city who were born in the present State of Washington, when it was a part of the territory of Oregon, first saw light of day on the townsite of Olympia, June 25, 1857, and has made this his home ever since. He was educated in the public schools of Olympia, among his first teachers were J.P. Judson and Steve Ruddell. Mr. Howard has traveled over the United States several times, meeting with many interesting experiences and adventures. He was married in Providence, R.I. to Miss Lillie Howard of the same name but no relation. While proprietor of the Pacific House he entertained many distinguished personages who visited this city among whom were Gen. Sherman, Ex-President Hayes and party, Gen. Winfield Scott, Gen. McDowell and others. After retiring from hotel life Mr. Howard lived on the east side, until he sold Sebree’s addition to W.E. Sebree, when he built a residence on Howard Flats and moved there. He has owned many acres of property now within the corporate limits od the city, comprising Sebree’s, Howard’s, Olympia Heights and other additions. Besides a large amount of property which he possesses in Olympia, Mr. Howard has a valuable additon to Spokane Falls, Mr. Howard is engaged in the brokerage business at 353 Fourth street, is in a prosperous condition and is a respected citizen. For the welfare of Olympia, his native place, he is ever ready to lend a helping hand.
Mason Irwin, judge of the superior court of Chehalis and Mason counties, was born in 1850; a native of Juniata county, Pennsylvania, where he spent his boyhood and youth on a farm, attending the common schools and Airy View academy. In 1870, Mr. Irwin removed to Pittsbugh, Pennsylvania, where he was employed as a store clerk for three years, when in 1873 he became a bank cashier in Juniata county, which position he held for four years. Mr. Irwin began the study of law in 1877, in Mifflintown, the county seat of Juniata county, and was admitted to the bar in 1879. In 1881, Mr. Irwin was elected prosecuting attorney of Juniata county, which office he held until 1884, and in the spring of 1885 he removed to Washington Territory locating first at Yakima and then at Montesano, Chehalis county, where he still resides. In 1889 Mr. Irwin was elected to the office of judge of the superior courts of Chehalis, Thurston Mason and Lewis counties, which duties he discheaged to the satisfaction and pleasure of all. By his upright, fearless and manly bearing, he has won the esteem of all with whom he has come in contact. By an act of the last legislature, which created of Thurston county a separate judicial district, Judge Irwin was relieved of some of his duties, and his jurisdiction now covers Chehalis and Mason counties. Mr. Irwin was married in 1887, to a daughter of Dr. Newell, of this city.
Edwin F. Janes was born on a farm in Napoli, Cattaraugus county, New York, October 21, 1839, and has followed agricultural pursuits most of the time since starting in life for himself. He received a common school education, with a few terms in Chamberlain institute – a rare privilege in those days. He then entered a store at Randolph, New York, where he remained three years. In 1869 he married the daughter of Marcus M. Jones of Randolph, and has been blessed with four sons. In May, 1889, Mr. Janes, accompanied by his mother-in-law (Mrs. M.M. Jones, who is now a widow living with Mr. Janes’ family), and his eldest son Carey, came to the great northwest and after looking over the sound towns, thought it best to locate at Olympia; for, as Mr. Janes says, they were charmed by the climate and fruit. As with all others who came about that time, the investments then made proved good ones. After remaining here during the summer, they returned east. Mr. Janes made another visit to Olympia in the spring of 1890, and m oved his family here in the following September. One son is still attending Meadville College in New York State. Mr. Janes’ investments have been on Fourth street in East Olympia, in Maple Park, and on the west side – all good property. Mr. Janes has proved to be one of the enterprising citizens of the place. He is a man with an extended business experience, of rare good judgment, and has contributed his share toward bringing about the new life of which the city has partaken during the last few years.
Mr. G. Kaufman, the head of the well-known firm of Toklas & Kaufman, was born in Germany on December 24, 1838. After receiving a thorough business education in his native country, he first engaged there in the wool, hide and commission business. In 1860 he went to Sunderland, England, and engaged in the watch, jewelry and diamond trade, continuing there until 1865, when he returned to Germany and married Miss Louisa Toklas, a sister of his present partner. In 1880 Mr. Kaufman came to America and after traveling extensively all over the United States finally located in Olympia, establishing the famous firm of Toklas & Kaufman, of which he is managing partner. His wife remaining in Germany to finish the education of the children in the German colleges, joined him here in 1886. To his untiring efforts and strict attention to business and to himself alone, he owes his great financial success and present high standing in the community. Mr. Kaufman is past vice president of the board of trade, and is also past master workman of A.O.U.W., and is occupying the position of treasurer of Harmony lodge of F. & A. Masons, which office he has held for three consecutive terms. Since his residence in this city he has ever been one of the formost promoters of public welfare and is always ready with hand and purse to further all movements looking towards the advancement of hs adopted city in which he has always taken a deep interest.
Nathan G. Kaufman was born in Kempen, Germany, September 22, 1866, and received a thorough education at Royal college in that place, from which he graduated in the spring of 1881. In October of the same year he emigrated to America, landing in New York. After a stay of several months in that city he went south to Texas, and there entered the mercantile business of his uncle at Bessoides. In September, 1882, he left for the Pacific coast, and after a short stay in San Francisco he came to Olympia, where his father was already established as a member of the firm of Toklas & Kaufman. Here he remained until 1885, when he was given charge of the firm’s branch house at Puyallup, which he managed until 1888, when he was recalled to Olympia, Mr. W. Toklas, one of the partners having left. In 1889 Mr. Kaufman went to Spokane Falls and took a position as dry goods salesman with the Great Eastern company at that place. Prior to his departure for that city he induced the firm to secure larger and more commodious premises. The Olympia block was consequently erected as the outcome of his suggestions. He personally designed the plans and interior arrangements of the establishment, and after its completion in the fall of 1889 returned to Olympia and took the management. Through push and energetic business methods he has worked the business of the firm to its present standing. The marvelous growth of the firm is better described on another page. Although it is not generally known in Olympia, Mr. Kaufman is an excellent caricature sketch artist, and as a writer has has also gained quite a fame, having written several good stories.
W.F. Keady, county clerk, ex-officio clerk superior court, was born in Washington, Pa., in 1821; attended common schools until twelve; at fourteen receiving a scholarship in Washington college; attended there one year when his father’s death compelled him to commence work to help support the family. At sixteen was apprenticed to a tobacco manufacturer, working until twenty-two years old, his marriage having occurred in the meantime. He then worked at printing until twenty-four, and in 1846 assisted in establishing the Brownsville Clipper, remaining with it until 1848. Then worked at cigar making in Pittsburg, Pa., Wheeling, Va., and elsewhere until 1851, and again returned to the Brownsville Clipper until the fall of 1852, when he went to Middleport, Ill., and worked on the Iroquois Journal for six months then purchased a half interest and shortly after the entire business, and improved the paper, editing and publishing it until 1856. He was then appointed postmaster, serving four years; then retired, and for a few years amused himself buying farms and improving them, dealing in stock etc. In 1867 he bought half of the Kankakee Gazette; sold it in 1870, and bought the Kankakee Journal, changing it to the Kankakee Times, and giving a half interest to his son George, continued to publish it until 1881, when he came to Olympia. In 1882 was appointed justice of the peac, and in October, 1889, was elected on the Republican ticket, clerk of Thurston county. He has for seven years been president of the school board. Mr. Keady is an active member of the Episcopal church, of which he is junior warden.
Dr. Kincaid was born in the north of Ireland in 1832 of Scotch parents. After his father’s death he came with his mother to Canada and was educated at Queen’s University graduating as M.D. in 1862 with highest honors. Immediately after taking his degree he started for New York and studied the practical part of his profession at the Bellevue and Island hospitals of that city, and was while there a private student of Austin Flint, secretary, and that able surgeon, Frank H. Hamilton, medical director of the U.S. Army. The latter urged him to enter the service of the U.S. government. The Dr. passed his examination for a surgeon of the U.S. Army before a board in Bleecher street, New York, and the next morning started for the seat of war and on his arrival at Washington D.C., was placed by Surgeon General Barnes on the staff of Armory Square hispital, where he remained on duty attending to the wounded brought in from the bloody battlefields of the Wilderness, Mine Run, Cold Harbor, Spottsylvania Court House and Petersburg, and had the honor to be selected from among the surgeons in Washington to form a post military hospital outside of Fort Lincoln when Early was in the valley. However a speedy retreat of that general from the view of Nash rendered the hospital useless. The Dr. then returned to his post at Armory Square but was soon transferred for duty to the department of the east, with headquarters at Governor’s Island hospital and at the foot of Broadway in New York, where he remained until promoted to be medical inspector for the state of Maine with headquarters at Portland, and was at that post until the close of the war. He then returned to Canada to visit his aged mother, and at her earnest request commenced the practice of his profession in the city of Peterboro, where he succeeded in bulding up one of the largest and most lucrative practices in central Canada, which he held for twenty-five years, and had during the whole of that time the positions of surgeon to the county of Peterboro, surgeon to the city of Peterboro, surgeon major with the rank of colonel in the British Army, surgeon to the Midland Railway Company of Canada, and senior surgeon Nicholls hospital, and in addition to other minor offices was elected senator for the University of Queen’s College; by a unanimous vote of the city and county of Peterboro was elected to represent them in parliament. In the latter part of 1888 the Dr. finding his family growing up, and realizing the limited field for young men to rise to good positions in Canada, resolved to come to the United States. He looked long and earnestly for a location and selected Olympia, where he commenced his practice in Wahsington in 1889, and is well satisfield with his success. He at once saw the advantages of the capital city and made up his mind from the first that Olympia was destined to be a large, healthy, intellectual and progressive city. The Dr. does not hope at his age to make a great stake but he feels satisfield that he will live to see Olympia a city of 30,000 and that his three sons will rise to good positions and become legal and useful citizens of this great, free and progressive country. Dr. Kincaid was married in 1865 in Perth, Canada, to Margaret M., daughter of James Bell, then manager of the commercial bank of Canada.
Allison E. Laberee, one of Olympia’s best known residents, was born in the province of Quebec, Canada, on April 7, 1859. He received a common school education, and spent his early life on a farm, getting the advantages only of what the district schools of his neighborhood afforded. Eight years ago he came to the then Territory of Washington, fully believing in the future of the northwest. He settled in Olympia, and for two years followed the occupation of book-keeping. He then formed a partnership with Mr. G.H. Foster, under the firm name of Foster & Laberee, in the hack and livery business, about six years ago. As the business prospered and increased, the old firm finally merged into the Gurney Cab and Transfer Company of Olympia, Mr. Laberee being elected secretary and treasurer of the new company. Mr. Laberee married about four years ago, Miss Carrie H. Root, and during all the years of his residence in this city he has been one of its most pushing and progressive citizens.
Rev. T. Johnston Lamont, pastor of the Presbyterian church of Olympia, is of Scotch descent. He was born in in Cincinnati, Ohio, December 9, 1842. His early days were spent in Kentucky and Illinois. In 1861 he was among the first to enlist in the volunteer service for the suppression of the great rebellion. He participated in several battles, the most prominent of which were those of Fort Donelson and Shiloh. In the latter he received a bullet wound in the left knee, which made him a cripple for life. As soon as able to get around he entered college at Beloit, Wisconsin, and continued there till his course was finished. At this time he engaged in business at Rockford, Ill., continuing for a period of seven years. In 1874 he entered McCormic Theological Seminary at Chicago, Ill. After graduating he began preaching in Chicago, and remained there until 1886. During his stay in the prairie city, while pastor of the Reunion Presbyterian church, he built the edifice now occupied by that society. Six years of Mr. Lamont’s life were spent in the editorial profession. He edited and published the Chicago Witness, a weekly religious periodical. From his printing office several prominent periodicals were issued. In 1886 he accepted an appointment from the home mission board at Anaconda, Mont. For four years he labored in this mining town, erecting a beautiful church edifice and gathering together a large membership. As a result of an attack of la grippe, in connection with the high altitude, he was obliged to seek a more moderate climate. Six months were spent at Spokane as pastor of Centenary Presbyterian church. His health not improving there, he decided to come to this coast. While attending synod at Tacoma in October, 1890, he was invited to preach for the church in Olympia, which resulted in his settlement as stated supply for the church in this city. Thus far Mr. Lamont has met with great encouragement in his work. A large number have already been addded to the membership. Pastor and people are cordially united in prosecuting church work. All the services are well attended and sustained. The church evinces new life and activity in all departments. Among its officers and members there is an evident determination, with God’s blessing, to make the First Presbyterian church of Olympia power for good in the community, a center of spiritual influences, and a rallying point for christian work. Mr. Lamont is delighted with the climate of Puget Sound, and, with the continuation of his present improving health, thinks Olympia is just the place for him to live in, and for all who wish to enjoy beautiful scenery and healthful surroundings.
Charles Frederick Leavenworth was born in Rochester, New York, on October 2, 1845. His first occupation was that of a freight clerk in the New York Central railroad office. At the age of fifteen years he ran away to enlist in the army in the New York infantry, but he returned home soon after and completed his education in the high school at Rochester. At the close of the war he crossed the plains, and was at Council Bluffs when, in August, 1865, he heard of the Plum creek massacre. With a party he joined a relief train from Grand Island, and after driving off the Indians rescued the only white man that was left alive and brought him back to Omaha. He then went through to Cheyenne and was there at the outbreak of the celebrated Bear river desperado fight when Pat McLally, the first man in that memorable fight, was killed. For two years Mr. Leavenworth conducted a ranch at Lone Tree creek, near Cheyenne. He went to Mexico during the mining excitement of 1868, and after being there a short time, with a party of seven fitted out and started for Arizona. The Indians soon afterwards stole their horses and the party walked five hundred miles to Cheyenne. He then went through Utah, Nevada and California, visiting San Francisco, settling in Santa Rosa, where he remained for two years. He was married in March, 1873, at Sonora, to Miss Kate M. Mead. He then went to the San Joaquin valley and settled at Modesto, where he built and operated the gas and water works, staying there for seven years. He also went into the milling business, and built the first steam flour mill in Modesto. In 1883 he came to Washington, settling at Tacoma. In 1884 he went to Port Hadlock, where he built a large saw mill, but afterwards sold that out, and returning to Tacoma, with Messrs. W.D. Taylor and H.B. Thomas bought out the Watson saw mill. That was sold in 1885, and Mr. Leavenworth then went to Gray’s Harbor, where he built the Cosmopolis mill, the largest saw mill on Gray’s Harbor. That he sold out in 1888, and he then settled in this city. In 1888 he built the Olympia and Gray’s Harbor Electric Company’s telephone line, between this city and Gray’s Harbor, and still owns a controlling interest in that company. In the same year he bought out the McKennry drug store in this city and became president of the newly organized Pacific Drug Company and also bought out the Wisdom drug store in Portland and formed the Wisdom Drug Company in that city, being its president. He has done a great deal in developing this country, and deserves considerable praise for his indefatigable labors in this respect.
[M]illard Lemon was born in Idaho, then a part of Oregon. His youth was spent within the limits of this state. He has resided several years in Oregon and California, and graduated in letters from De Pauw University of Greencastle, Ind., in 1880. He went to South America in January, 1881, and was resident engineer upon government railroad construction in Chile until 1888, when he returned to California, and soon after to this state, where he has since resided. In all that pertains to the advancement of this city both members of [the firm of Lemon & Whitham, Civil Engineers] take a deep interest.
Thomas Linklitar [sic, should read Linklater], one of the oldest settlers in that part of Puget Sound where Olympia now is located, was born in Scotland in 1819, and came to Washington Territory in 1834, and setled Tenalcut Prairie, and was one of the original members of the Hudson Bay company. When Olympia became a place of importance he took up land on the Nesqually river, where he farmed up to within a short time of his death, February 20, 1890.
Doing business under the firm name of Marr & Ross, are proprietors of the Acme Drug Store, a prominent institution of this city, and one that ranks A No. 1 among the drug houses on the Sound…. Mr. [Robert] Marr [was] born in Scotland, near Dundee, on January 29, 1844. … Mr. Marr left his native land when 18 years old, arriving in New York in April, 1862. He remained in that city about two years and then moved west to Iowa, then to Nebraska, and afterwards to Kansas, arriving at Leavenworth in September, 1865; drifting about until October of 1867, he then settled in Wilson county, Kansas, where he remained until 1884, the date of his removal to Washington, the “Evergreen,” where, as he and Mr. Ross state, they expect their bones to be laid to rest.
James Mars, the most well-known colored gentleman in Olympia, was born in Ghent, N.Y., in 1828, and removed with his parents in 1834 to Salem, Mass., from where he entered a seafaring life which he continued until 1849, when he located in San Francisco, Cal. Mr. Mars remained in San Francisco for two years and then mined in the mountains of California until 1858, when he removed to Victoria, B.C., from whence he steamboated for twelve years. In 1865 Mr. Mars married Mary Jane Thomas, and in 1870 removed to Olympia, where in 1878 he started what is now the Our House restaurant, located on the corner of Fourth and Franklin streets. The restaurant is exactly what the name implies — a place where one can feel at home and enjoy home cooking.
Alfred Martin, private secretary to Hon. Chas. E. Laughton, was born in London, England, in 1860.At an early age he entered the office of the general manager of the London & North Western Railway company of England, being shortly afterwards appointed confidential clerk to the assistant goods manager (superintendent of transportation) of that company. He came to the United States in 1882 as private secretary to the land commissioner of the Northern Pacific Railroad company, and in 1884 went to New York to become confidential clerk to Hon. John Jay Knox (ex-comptroller of the currency), president of the National Bank of the Republic of that city. He removed to Seattle in 1888, finding employment as private secretary to the chief engineer of the Seattle, Lake Shore and Eastern Railway company, subsequently becoming assistant to the president of that company. He resigned the latter position in December, 1889, to accept that of private secretary to Hon. Elisha P. Ferry, the first governor of the state, and now acts in the same capacity in the office of Hon. Chas. E. Laughton, lieutenant governor and acting governor. Mr. Martin’s father, the late Frederick Martin, F.S.S. of London, England, was at one time assistant to Thomas Carlyle, and was a writer of some note, being the author of the “History of Lloyd’s and Marine Insurance,” “History of Banks and Bankers,” editor of the Statesman’s Year Book, and numerous other works.
Thomas J. McBratney, councilman from the second ward, was born in Belfast, Ireland, in 1846. He came here from Illinois nine years agho, and soon won the esteem of his fellow townsmen by his many admirable qualities of mind and heart. He has always taken a lively interest in municipal affairs, and represents the second ward in the city council, where his excellent judgment and commonsense method of dealing with business propositions renders the public good and efficient service. He is a horseshoer by trade, having spent his lifetime in this business, and has for the past eight years conducted the largest horseshoeing and blacksmithing shop in the capital city. He also deals in wagons, carriages and implements, and repairs them as well. Mr. McBratney represented the second ward two years ago also, his re-election to the position the present year bearing evidence of the esteem of his fellow citizens, and of his perfect fitness for the position which he holds.
Joseph McCarrogher was born in the county of Armagh, in 1853. His boyhood was spent in his native country, and it was in 1871 that he came to America. He was raised on a farm and received his education in the public schools in Ireland. On coming to this country he settled at Atchison, Kan., and worked there at railroading, starting as a fireman on a locomotive and working up to an engineer’s position. In 1872 he went to California and was in San Francisco for about a year. The following year he went to the mines at Virginia City at mining and as an engineer in mining up to 1878. In the latter year he came to Olympia and worked at different callings until he went as an engineer on Sound steamers. He continued in this until about a year ago, when he went into the real estate business, in which he has been quite successful, owning and controlling some very valuable property in this city and vicinity. Mr. McCarrogher was one of the census enumerators that took the census of the new State of Washington last year, and for several years, every summer, he has been engaged in the coast survey service. He has also been connected with the fire department for some time, and is president of the Barnes Hook and Ladder Company No. 1. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. , and has won his way to his present position by his own unaded efforts.
Walter T. McDonald, of the firm of McDonald & Crego, real estate, loan and insurance brokers, at the corner of Main and Fifth streets, was born in Upper Sandusky, Ohio, November 7, 1852. After receiving a common school education, at the age of sixteen years, he went into the drug store conducted by his father. After remaining one year he found that he did not like that calling, and he returned to school to take a business course, on the completion of which he became bookkeeper for the engine and machine works of George B.Stevenson & Company, in his native town. He remained there for four years and then formed a partnership under the firm name of McDonald, Skidmore & Co., and took a large belt saw mill to the frontiers of Michigan. Selling out to his partner he returned to his old home and received the appointment of joint freight and ticket agent of the Columbus, Hocking Valley and Toledo and the Pennsylvania railroad companies, and assistant traveling passenger agent. In October, 1889, on a leave of absence, Mr. McDonald took a pleasure trip through the Northwest and after looking over the new State of Washington, realized that it had a bright future and decided to locate in Olympia. Returning home he resigned his position there, and arrived back in this city on December 4, 1889, and on December 28, of that year was one of the seven incorporators of the Portland and Puget City Company, being elected its president, a position which he still holds. This company located the townsite of Puget City, which is located on the east side of Puget Sound, between this city and Tacoma. Owing to its location being at the head of the seven bays and its deep water frontage, and advantages with its agricultural lands backing it up, it has a bright and prosperous future. It has a population of 150, with a hotel, two stores, a saw mill, etc. During the raising of subsidies for our railroads last spring, he took quite an active part and gave much of his time to the cause, and last fall when it came time to raise money to make the fight for the permanent location of the state capital, he gave three weeks of his time to this matter and was on the printing and finance committees. In October he traveled all over Eastern Washington making arrangements with the different newspapers to support Olympia for the capital, making a very successful trip. He is always interested in anything that insures to the advancement of his adopted city.
Val A. Milroy, postmaster of Olympia, was born in Rensselear, Jasper county, Indiana, on August 17, 1855. He resided there until eleven years of age, and his early education was received in the schools of that town. In 1866 his parents removed to Delphi, in Carroll county, in the same state, when he came to Washington Territory and settled in Olympia. For the first two years after coming here he worked on a farm and went to school, and in the summer time was employed in surveying. Then for seven years he worked as a compositor on different papers in this city and still employed his time in the summer at surveying in different parts of the state. In 1878 he acted as clerk to his father, who was the Indian agent at the Puyallup and Nesqually reservations, and remained with him three years. In 1881 he entered into the livery business here with Mr. O’Connor and continued in that line until 1884, when he was again emloyed with his father as clerk on the Yakima Indian reservation. Mr. Milroy then went to Portland and took a course in the business college, and was appointed postmaster of Olympia in 1889. His performance of the duties of this office have been such as to win encomiums from all classes of citizens, and fact has been demonstrated that he is the right man in the right place.
John R. Mitchell, of the law firm of Root & Mitchell, was born at Alchie, Halifax county, Va., January 31, 1861, and was educated at public and private schools until the age of eighteen, at which time he engaged in mercantile business in his native town. At the age of twenty-five he commenced the study of the law, under the care and direction of Henry Edmunds of the Halifax bar. He arrived in Olympia on Saturday, the 28th day of April, 1888, and on the 30th day of the same month entered into partnership with M.A. Root, who was at that time probate judge, and with whom he has continued ever since. Mr. Mitchell was admitted to the bar by the United States district court at Olympia on the 23d day of November, 1889. During the summer of 1890, he took a course of law at the University of Virginia. He was nominated for the position of county attorney by the democratic convention of Thurston county in 1880, but declined the same, and was elected city attorney for the city of Olympia in December, 1890, and resigned the same in January, 1891.
C.M. Moore, proprietor of the City Market, was born in Adams county, Illinois, on August 24, 1857. When only three years of age he removed with his parents to Iowa, where he resided until he was fifteen years of age. He then removed to Colorado, where he remained for four and a half years, where he was engaged in the meat market and fruiting business. He came to Olympia in 1877 and started in the meat market busines, but after a period of three years he accepted a position in the internal revenue service under Collector Hayden. He was afterwards engaged in the United States land register’s office for about a year, and in 1882 was elected auditor of Thurston county, efficiently filling that office for two terms. He then went to Helena, Mont., where he remained for a year, then returning and purchasing the city meat market in 1886, since which time he has conducted that business. Mr. Moore was married in 1886 to a daughter of Dr. Ostrander, and has hosts of friends in his adopted city.
Hon. Philip D. Moore, the present state librarian, was born in New Jersey, of Quaker parents, in 1826, and spent his early years upon a farm. During the years 1837, 1838 and 1839, he served an apprenticeship to the drug business at Macon, Georgia, and, subsequently, continued his study of pharmacy in new York city, where he carried on a drug store for many years. He came to Puget sound in 1862, as deputy collector of customs, but in 1863, President Lincoln appointed him collector of internal revenue for Washington and Idaho, upon the recommendation and at the request of Hon. Salmon P. Chase, Rev. Dr. Bellows, Rev. T. Starr King and the New Jersey republican state committee. After serving in that capacity for about five years, he again accepted the office of deputy collector of customs. He filled that office under four different collectors. Subsequently he engaged in mining pursuits in California and Arizona, but retaining his attachment to this commonwealth, he returned and engaged in farming in Mason county, which country seat he still owns. In the winter of 1890 he was appointed by Governor Ferry and confirmed by the senate, as state librarian, which office he is now filling to the satisfaction of the bench and bar, as well as the board of library commissioners, and his administration of the state library was commended by Governor Laughton in highly complimentary terms in his last message. Mr. Moore has been an active politician, in the best sense of the word, during his long and eventful life. He retains a distinct recollection of the campaign of 1832, and in 1836, had the honor of shaking hands and talking with General Harrison, the hero of Tippecanoe. In 1844 he was engaged for five months in the canvass for Henry Clay, and in like manner was engaged with Joshua R. Giddings, of Ohio, in the Fremont campaign of 1856. Being an active and pronounced anti-slavery man, he enjoyed the acquaintance of Wm. Lloyd Garrison, Wendell Phillips, Theodore Parker, Frederick Douglas, Sam’l J. May and other leading abolitionists. Mr. Moore married in New Jersey in 1847 and his wife and all their children and grandchildren are residents of this state. While he may rightfully be classed with the pioneers of Washington, yet he is in hearty sympathy with the more recent and wonderful development, progress and prosperity of this state, and should be ranked among the most enthusiastic of our enterprising citizens.
I.S. Moulthrop was born in Delaware county, Iowa, July 2, 1863. At the age of ten he was sent east to be educated, and passed through the high school at Birmingham, New York. His first venture was in training and driving thoroughbred trotting horses, and his courageous and daring nature made him a successful driver and winner of many races. When the roller skating craze started in the New England states he was one of the first to see the harvest in this line, and devoting his time and energy to the rink business he soon became master of it, and controller of several of the largest rinks in the East, including the celebrated Olympia club of New York city, where 3,000 skaters occupied the floor at each session. When this business began to wane he sold out, and having a desire to see other countries, he traveled for eighteen months, after which he returned to New York and entered into the laundry business with his brother, remaining until 1889. Hearing so much of the far West and Puget Sound he determined to go and see it, and after visiting all the cities and towns on the Sound decided that Olympia was the place, and immediately arranged to open a steam laundry, which has proven a great success. Mr. Moulthrop is a firm believer in the growth of Olympia and is loading himself with all the real estate he can carry. He is also the manager of the Olympia roller skating rink, which is patronized by the elite of the city and is a decided success.
M.E. Mumford was born in Illinois, January 2, 1841. In early life he was a school techer and for some time was the principal of the city schools at Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, following the close of the rebellion. At the breaking out of the war Mr. Mumford enlisted in the Thirty-first regiment Wisconsin infantry and served for three years, he being a member of the famous Twentieth army corps attached to Sherman’s army in memorable march to the sea. After the war he returned to Wisconsin and after his teaching experience was county superintendent of schools of Crawford county for two years and in 1875 and 1876 was elected sheriff of that county. He then went to Kansas, settling in Cloud county in 1877. There he remained for twelve years, eight years of which he was engaged in the real estate, loan and abstracting business. He came to Washington about a year and a half ago, settling in Tacoma where he accepted a position as manager of the Pierce County Absteact and Title Insurance Company. He came here the present year, assisting in organizing, is one of the proprietors and manager of the Olympia Abstract and Title Insurance Company, a position that his years of experience in this line of business peculiarly fits him for. Mr. Mumford is married and has a family of seven children.
John Miller Murphy, councilman from the first ward, was born in 1839 near Fort Wayne, Ind. He came to Portland, Or., with his sister in 1851, and attended school until 1852; then came to Olympia, still pursuing his studies, also clerking, until 1856, when he returned to Portland and was apprenticed to the Times Publishing company, remaining with them one year. He then became foreman on the Democratic Standard, remaning with it until the close of its career. He then removed to Oregon City, working on the Argus until 1859. In June of that year he went to Vancouver and founded the Vancouver Chronicle, which, after a few months, he sold, and came to Olympia, and established the Washington Standard, which he has since conducted never missing an issue. Mr. Murphy was for six years territorial auditor; was also quarter-master general for four years, and has on four occasions been a member of the city council, and now represents the first ward in that body. He is a member of Olympia Lodge I.O.O.F., and is past chief patriarch of Alpha Encampment. He has also been a volunteer fireman since the organization of that department in this city.
One of Olympia’s most energetic and successful real estate, loan and insurance brokers, is Fred Neuffer, whose office is on Fourth street, next door to the post office. One of Mr. Neuffer’s specialities is the buying and selling of all kinds of improved and unimproved city and farm property in acreage in lots from five to two thousand acres. Mr. Neuffer also makes a speciality of locating settlers on homesteads and lumber claims, and has some of the finest agricultural and lumber lands in the state. In insurance he represents some of the best known companies in the country, in fire, life and accident insurance. Among these companies may be mentioned the Farmers’ Fire Ins. Co. of Seattle; New York Life Ins. Co. of New York and the Travelers’ Accident Ins. Co. of Hartford, Conn. He loans money in sums from $500 to $10,000 on improved farms and city property. Mr. Neuffer makes a specialty of investing money for non-residents and his conservative management in this, in placing the funds in property which is constantly and rapidly increasing in value, is appreciated by those who have invested; and for those who wish to invest in Washington real estate but who are far removed from the state, Mr. Neuffer will guarantee a good percentage on all investments and will be found to be a reliable and prompt agent in all business relations. Call upon him or write, and information will be cheerfully given.
Dr. John S. Newcomb was born April 24, 1862, In Black Rock, N.S. When eight years old he removed with his parents to the State of Maine, where he continued to live until the fall of 1885, when he went to Albany, N.Y., and commenced the study of medicine under the tutorship of Dr. Wm. Hailes, professor of histology and pathological anatomy. Dr. Newcomb graduated from the medical department of Union University of Albany in the spring of 1888, after which he traveled westward and visited several states and territories in search of a suitable location for the practice of his profession, but without finding the desired place until he landed at Olympia, Washington. Dr. Newcomb at once received a favorable impression of Olympia, and engaged as assistant to Dr. Warren Riley, with the intention of making this place his future home, and is meeting with deserved success.
Gottlieb Noschka, merchant tailor, was born in Werben, Germany, August 22, 1848. At the age of sixteen years he commenced learning his trade, and in 1866 left home and worked in the leading cities of Germany and Switzerland until 1880 when he went to London where he remained until 1882. While in London Mr. Noschka was married to his present wife, who has worked with him in the shiop until the last year. He has two children, a son and a daughter. In 1882 he, with his young wife, landed in New York. In 1884 they went to San Francisco and a year later came to Puget Sound. After a six months sojourn in Seattle he came up to Olympia. From a small beginning he has worked up to the magnificent business which he now enjoys. His motto has been to please his customers and has extended his business to several of the neighboring towns. He counts among his regular patrons the leading men of the city and state. He never fails to appreciate a kindness. Mr. Noschka early acquired possession of real estate which now gives him a handsome competence. He has shown his progressive spirit by erecting, last summer, two double tenement houses and intends, the coming summer, to build a flat with six tenement apartments. It is his purpose to then retire to his farm on Wadel’s Creek, this county. Mr. Noschka is one of the enterprising men of the city. He was instrumental in organizing the board of trade, and has otherwise assisted in advancing the interests of the city. He is a member of Olympia Lodge No. 1 of Odd Fellows and is president of the Germania Verein.
Rossell G. O’Brien, adjutant general of the State of Washington, was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1846, and came with his parents to the State of Illinois when only five years of age. The public schools of that state furnished him his early education, and he afterwards attended Springfield college, at Springfield, Ill. As a boy he worked on a farm, but when still young he went to Chicago and entered an insurance office as clerk, where he remained but a short time, going thence into the dry goods house of J.B. Shea, in that city. He had become a member of the Ellsworth zouaves of Chicago when only 16 years of age, and had been identified some time with the military, when early in 1864 he enlisted in the army and was given the second lieutenancy of company D. 134th Illinois infantry and he was discharged on October 24th of that year. He then returned to civil life, and was a clerk in the freight department of the Chicago & Alton railroad until he went into the establishment of George & C.W. Sherwood, dealers in school books and manufacturers of school furniture, Mr. O’Brien having charge of the school furniture and philosophical apparatus departments. He remained with this house until 1870, when he came to Olympia and was appointed assistant assessor in the United States revenue department. On the consolidation of this department he was made deputy collector, and held this office for five years. He was then appointed in charge of the Tacoma Land company’s office at Tacoma, where he remained for several months, leaving that position to accept the appointment as clerk of the supreme court of the territory, and clerk of the district court of the second judicial district, holding the two positions at the same time. He was appointed United States commissioners in 1876, and held that position continuously for thirteen years. As far back as 1878 he was elected quartermaster general of the Territory of Washington, and it was in 1881 that he was elected adjutant general, a position which he has ever since held. He organized the first company of the national guard of Washington, here in Olympia in 1883, and from this nucleus has sprung the splendid organization that the state now has. He commanded this first company until a captain was found, and then went on with the organization of the national guard throughout the state. He was elected a member of the city council in 1881, and has served continuously until the present year, with the exception of a period of about six months. He is married and has two children. In all things that concern the welfare of the State of Washington Gen. O’Brien takes a deep interest.
A.S. Oliver, D.D.S., was born in Canada on July 12, 1865. When quite young he went to St. Louis, Mo., where he resided until 1882, when he went to Livingston, Montana, where he first began the practice of dentistry. After a few years, Dr. Oliver decided to take a full course in his chosen profession, and with that end in view entered the Missouri dental college, from which he graduated in 1889. About a year ago he came to this state and settled in Olympia. His offices are in the Stuart block, and he has already built up a large and lucrative practice. He makes a specialty of crown, bridge and gold plate work, in which he has had a great deal of experience, both as a student and practitioner.
Mr. L.P. Ouellette, the present county surveyor of Thurston county, was born in Essex county, Ontario, in the year 1855.After taking a complete course in civil engineering at L’Assumption College, at the age of 22 Mr. Ouellette turned his attention toward the great west, making his residence at Denver, Colorado. During his stay in that mountainous state he for two terms occupied the position of deputy county surveyor of Arapaho county, in which Denver is situated. In 1883 Mr. Ouellette came to Olympia, and in 1887 accepted the presidency of the Puget Sound and Chehalis Railway, which line he was largely instrumental in founding and contructing. In addition to his public duties Mr. Ouellette carries on at his office in the Woodruff block, on Main street, Olympia, a general business, including all classes of surveying, platting, etc., and is prepared at all times to furnish plats and blue prints of all descriptions, and state, county, and township maps, which are revised to date according to the records of the land office.
Miss Mary L. Page, … member of the firm [Whitham, Page & Blake], is a graduate from the school of architecture in the University of Illinois, but since coming to Olympia has been engaged in mapping and platting; she has executed some very elaborate and important work, and has gained a reputation as an accurate draughtsman.
D.S. Paisley was born in Ohio, in 1832. He was educated in the common schools of his home district and at the age of fifteen years he was sent to Bethany, Virginia, to finish his education. Upon its completion he removed to New Orleans, and for seven years he was engaged in steamboating. He subsequently located at St. Louis and for seven years was in the service of the government. Was foreman of a large iron foundry at Pittsburg, Penn., and afterwards established a foundry at Wheeling, West Virginia, which he conducted one year. He then built a foundry at New Cumberland, Virginia, when he went upon the road. In 1860 he went to Cleveland, Ohio, and later had charge of a foundry at Marquette, Michigan. He had charge of four foundries in Cleveland until 1887, whe he came to Olympia and has since been identified with this city, being last year a member of the firm of Williams & Paisley, engaged in plumbing and dealing in hardware. Mr. Paisley is a man of a fine business education and habits and makes a success of whatever he undertakes.
One of the most popular and best known young men of this city is Samuel M. Percival, eldest son of Capt. S.W. Percival, and born in Olympia thirty-three years ago. He received his education at the Bishop Scott grammar school of Oregon, and at the California military academy, after which he engaged in business with his father in this city. Early in life he developed a taste for steamboating and soon entered the service of one of the steamboat companies of Puget Sound, working himself up to the position of master and pilot, which pursuit he followed for a number of year. In 1884 he returned to Olympia to engage in business, and has ever since been closely identified with the business of this city. His career has been marked by unceasing zeal and integrity, and anything he undertakes is sure to be done well. Mr. Percival is now the manager and sole agent of Percival’s addition to Olympia, which is acknowledged to be the finest residence property in the city. The lots are all 60 by 120 feet in size, the alleys are all 20 feet wide. Almost every prominent building in this city can be seen from any lot in this addition. Mr. Percival is selling this property to builders only. He has many calls from speculators but will not sell except to those who desire to build homes.
One of the most respected pioneers of Olympia is Samuel W. Percival. He was born in Hanover, Mass., September 3, 1823. After receiving a common school education he went to sea and soon became a master mariner. He arrived in San Francisco early in 1850, and stuck to the sea on this coast, and took one of the first loads of lumber out of the Columbia River. On January 1, 1853, Capt. Percival visited Puget Sound, and attracted by the wonderful advantages for inland commcerce sought a place to make a home, and selected a donation claim of 320 acres at Olympia, where he built and operated a saw mill, furnishing the early settlers, as well as many vessels, with lumber. It was his mill that furnished most of the lumber used in the barricade across the city, behind which the settlers took refuge, during a raid of the Indians at the time of the Indian war. Capt. Percival, soon after his arrival, entered the merchandise business, in connection with which he built the principal wharf and warehouse of this city. By his close attention to business and square and upright dealing, he soon succeeded in building up one of the largest mercantile houses on the sound.
He always had great faith in the future of Olympia, and has given largely of his means towards any and all enterprises that would in any way benefit the city; in fact, he is one of the men who have been the backbone of Olympia. About ten years ago Mr. Percival retired from active business, at which time he transferred his wharf property to his son, J.C. Percival, who has since transformed it into a fine and well equipped dock. Some years ago Capt. Percival built a fine residence on his property on the west side where he now lives. His residence is one of the most imposing in the city, situated as it is on a prominent point overlooking the entire city, with a clear view for eight miles down the sound.
J.C. Phelps, assistant superintendent of the Port Townsend & Southern railroad, was born in Tioga county, New York, in 1857, and immigrated with his parents to Kirksville, Mo., in 1869, when he entered the employment of the Western Union Telegraph company in 1870. Although a mere boy he served an apprenticeship, and mastered in two years all obstacles and became a thorough operator, capable of filling any position in that line. Mr. Phelps then accepted positions on various roads, and at last was promoted by the Gould system on the Wabash & St. Louis as conductor, and distinguished himself on the September 15, 1887, by saving the lives of a train load of passengers at the risk of his own, between Moberly and St. Louis. Two months after his heroic act he was granted a two months’ leave of absence under full pay and a complimentary pass over all connecting lines, and while visiting Galveston was offered and accepted charge of construction on the Gulf, Colorado & Santa Fe railroad, between Brenham and Taylor, Texas. Resigning this the following year, he came to Washington Territory in 1889, where he was employed with the Union Pacific Railroad company as chief clerk in the superintendent’s office of the Washington divison. In 1890 he accepted his present position.
T.H. Phipps was born in Gloucestershire, England, in 1846, where at a young age he learned the carpenter trade, at which he worked for some years in London. Mr. Phipps was also employed in London for some time as a baker. In 1871 he came to the United States and located in Kansas, where for five years he worked as carpenter for the A.T.&S.F.R.R.Co. In 1876 Mr. Phipps embarked in the general merchandise business in Ellenwood, Barton county, Kansas, and in 1882 removed to Washington Territory and located on Oyster Bay, Mason county, where he carried on the cranberry culture for six years. In November, 1888, Mr. Phipps removed to Olympia, where he started a soda and bottling business, which is at the present time the only one of its kind in Thurston county. His business includes the manufacture of all kinds of carbonated beverages.
Thomas Prather was born in Boone county, Missouri on July 2, 1832, and until the age of sixteen years he worked on a farm. At that time he crossed the plains to California, where he remained one year, when he returned to Missouri. In the spring of 1852 he again crossed the plains to The Dalles, Oregon, and wintered in Portland. In the spring of 1853 he came to Olympia. He then spent eight years on government survey, and helped to divide the first six townships in the new territory. He then engaged in mining in Boise City and British Columbia for about eight years. Mr. Prather helped to make the first preliminary survey of the Northern Pacific railroad between the Sound and Priest’s rapids on the Columbia river, assisting Girard S. Hurd and Major Tilton, being engaged from 1866 to 1868 in this work. He was engaged for several years in this city in the nursery business. Mr. Prather was in the Indian war, and was one of the eighty-six of the first company raised for that war, in 1855, under Judge Gilmore Hayes, serving six months, being mustered in as second sergeant in the United States service at Fort Steilacoom. In 1858 he was elected sergeant-at-arms of the territorial house of representatives, and two years afterwards was re-elected to the same position. Five years ago he was elected county commissioner of Thurston county, and served in that position until last December. Mr. Prather married thirteen years ago to Miss Agnes W. Winsor, and has two children. From 1877 to 1880 he was employed at the insane asylum at Steilacoom, and about eighteen years ago was a teacher at Cape Flattery under Gen. T.I. McKenny.
G.S. Prince, sheriff of Thurston county, was born in Barnbridge, New York State, on December 18, 1851. After a common school education, he learned the trade of a machinist, and worked at that calling in Michigan, California and this state. He came to the Pacific coast in 1874, setttling at San Francisco and in 1878 came to Washington Territory, settling at Tumwater. There he resided until 1884, when he removed to Bucoda. In 1880 he was elected justice of the peace, and his course while in that position was such that he was elected to a second term by his fellow townsmen. He was elected last November to the position of sheriff, and his fitness for this position which requires a man peculiarly fitted for it has been amply shown since he has occupied it. Sheriff Prince is married and has one child. He is one of the progressive men of the state and is interested in all that pertains to its welfare.
John C. Rathbun was born in New Haven, Connecticut, December 19, 1854. In the summer of 1856 his parents moved to western Missouri, where amid the varied experiences of pioneer life he grew to manhood. He attended the district school until sixteen years of age, when he entered upon a successful career as teacher. In June, 1877, he graduated as a bachelor of science from the state university of Wisconsin, and the following November was elected county school superintendent in his home country, at a time when the county gave a political majority of six hundred against him. He was re-elected two years later. His administration of school affairs was highly satisfactory to the educational interests and he was strongly urged to be a candidate for a third term, but after a prolonged contest the republican convention nominated him for representative in the legislature. He made a thorough canvas but failed of an election. While school superintendent he was appointed by the state superintendent a member of the board of visitors to one of the normal schools of the state. In 1884 he was one of two delegates from his senatorial district to the state convention that elected delegates to the republican national convention in Chicago. From 1882 to 1885 he published the Buffalo County Herald. In the latter year he removed to Texas, and assisted in organizing the new county of Midland in that state. His paper there, the Staked Plain, took a front rank among the paperes of western Texas as urging the development of that portion of the state. In some respects a democratic state convention in Texas practically shapes legislation, and in the spring campaign of 1886 Mr. Rathbun was unanimously selected by the people of his county a delegate to the state convention at Galveston, to urge a plank in the democratic platform favoring needed land legislation for the west. In 1888 there was no republican state ticket put in nomination, and Mr. Rathbun was nonminated for commissioner of the general land office on the prohibition ticket, which was generally supported by the republicans. In 1888 he turned his attention to the then coming state of Washington, and the following spring, after giving the Sound country a thorough inspection, located at Olympia and published the Olympia Review until last July. Mr. Rathbun has had a thorough education in the law, but owing to his newspaper connections has been but little in active practice. He was regularly a candidate for county attorney in Texas in 1888, but having determined to remove to Washington, withdrew from the campaign. He served as justice of the peace two terms in Wisconsin, one term in Texas, and at the last general election in Thurston county was elected justice of the peace for Olympia precinct. At the inauguration of the new city administration last December he was chosen police justice. He is also a member of the city board of education. Since locating in Olympia he has given encouragement to every enterprise that would benefit the city. Probably no one, in proportion to the amount of money invested, subscribed last summer as liberally to the railroad subsidies and the capital campaign fund. He is not of the razzle dazzle sort; an acquaintance with him, however, seldom fails to impress one with his sterling qualities as a practical man of affairs. He is a man of good judgment and of large intelligence. He has been a member of several secret orders and at present is Past Chancellor in the Knights of Pythias and is also far advanced in the Masonic order.
Among those who have always taken an active interest in the growth of Olympia, John D. Reagh may be singled out. Mr. Reagh was born in Ontario, Canada, in 1849. After taking the educational course afforded by the public schools he turned his attention to ranching. Attracted toward the west, he went to California in 1876, and devoted his time to mining until 1882, when he came to Olympia. For the past eleven years he has been engaged in the wood business, and supplies nearly all the large steamers touching at Olympia. His daily pastronage requires from fifty to sixty cords of wood. Unlike other lines of business, Mr. Reagh is enabled to bring in outside capital and keep it here. He employes from 75 to 100 men with a pay roll of $2,000. He has been tendered a number of public offices, but on every occasion has declined. Mr. Reagh is an active member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen.
Hon. Thomas M. Reed, auditor of the State of Washington, was born in Sharpsburg, Kentucky, December 8, 1825. His grandfather, Thomas Reed, was one of the pioneers of the then “Wild and Far West.” Mr. Reed at the age of twelve years was thrown on his own resources, and during the spring and summer he labored at farm work at $8 per month, with which he paid for his schooling during the winter months, and clothed himself. At the age of eighteen Mr. Reed began teaching school, and in 1849 he went by the way of Panama to San Francisco, where, in partnership with John Conness, who was afterwards senator for Claifornia, he mined for two years. He then entered the mercantile business at Georgetown, El Dorado county, and removed from California to Olympia in December 1857. He was prosecuting attorney at Lewiston, Idaho district of Washington territory, for two years, and in 1862 was a member of the territorial legislature, representing Idaho county, then part of this territory. He was speaker of the house for that session. He then practiced law in Lewiston for two years, and in 1865 was elected a member of the Idaho legislature for Nez Perce county. In 1877 he was elected to the legislative council of Washington territory, and was its president for one session. He was also a delegate to the constitutional convention of 1889. As a citizen of Olympia he is identified with many important interests; was a member of the city council; is one of the principal stockholders in the new hotel, Olympia; is interested in the Gas and Electric Light company, and a director of the First National bank. He is also a stockholder of the Oregon and C.V. Railroad company, of which for two years he was president. Mr. Reed has been in public life during the greater part of his existence, and his extensive experience in state affairs will be of incalculable benefit to his constituents. We cannot close our remarks without referring to his eminent standing in the Masonic fraternity, as he is a 33d degree Mason in A.S.&A. riters. He is and has been for twenty-nine years grand secretary of the Grand Lodge of Masons in this state, and for three years was grand master — the highest state office. He is grand high priest of the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons; also grand recorder of the Grand Jurisdiction for Washington of the Knights Templar. He was prominent in organizing the Grand Lodge and Grand Chapter of the territory. Thus is will be seen Mr. Reed is a busy man. Although he has accomplished more than falls to the lot of the average man to do, he is in vigorous health and excellent trim to fight the remainder of life’s battle.
Warren Riley was born in Marietta, Ohio, in October, 1843, and spent his early days on the farm of his father. He enlisted in company L, 1st Ohio cavalry, upon the organization of that regiment in 1861. He was disabled at the battle of Corinth, after which he returned home and assisted in the organization of the 148th Ohio infantry, and was commissioned lieutenant in the same by Governor Todd. After rendering important service in the capture of John Morgan, he was commissioned captain of the 46th battalion of Ohio state troops. In May, 1864, he was transferred and placed in charge of camp of reconstruction of cavalry in the army of the Cumberland under General Baldy Smth, at Nashville, Tenn. During the fall of 1864 he commanded a portion of company L, 1st Ohio volunteer cavalry, doing excellent execution with the same. He was subsequently assigned duty at headquarters of General Geo. H. Thomas, where he served until six months after the close of the war. He Took part in all the principal engagements of the army of the Cumberland, from Mill Springs to the destruction of Hood’s army at Nashville. After the close of the war he engaged in mechanical work, and at the same time pursued the study of surgery, in which he had a considerable experience during the war. He afterward entered the college at Columbus, Ohio, and graduated from the same in 1880. After practicing a short time in Ohio he removed to the Pacific coast, settling in Olympia in 1881, where he has built up a large practice, and is now one of the most distinguished physicians and surgeons for which the coast is noted.
W.H. Roberts is a native of Toronto, Can. He left Canada for the United States in 1862, and with a party of miners started west, and was one of the first settlers in Virginia City, Montana, soon after the first gold excitement in that place. Through ill health he was compelled to go to California, and military enthusiasm having just reached its height, he enlisted as a private in the Second California infantry. Through good conduct he was soon promoted to the rank of sergeant, which he held until his honorable discharge in 1865. Having been taught music as an accomplishment in his early years, he found it at this time very useful as a means of living, and had quite a large class in San Francisco. About the year 1871 he took up his abode in Olympia, where he continued teaching music until 1879, when, at the request of a large number of citizens of Port Townsend, he organized a class in that city; and in the same year, under the administration of the late collector of customs, Hon. H.A. Webster, he was appointed inspector in the customs department, a position which he also held under Hon. A.W. Bash, until his duties as legislative correspondent for the Oregonian took him back to Olympia, when soon afterwareds he received the appointment of deputy collector of internal revenue under Major J.R. Hayden. In 1884 he was appointed to do the clerical and accountant’s work in the office of the county auditor, and in November, 1889, he was elected county clerk and clerk of the superior court of Thurston county, on the Republican ticket, running ahead of his ticket over 200 votes, which position he fills at the present time. Besides the above, Mr. Roberts is the commander of George H. Thomas Post No. 5, Grand Army of the Republic.
J.W. Robinson was born October 5, 1855, on a farm near Wilmington, Clinton county, Ohio. He received a common school education and began teaching early in life, and by his earnings in this way completed a collegiate course and then studied law. He was admitted and has ever since practiced his chosen profession. He came to Washington territory in the fall of 1883 and located at Olympia. He soon acquired a large business and has always been recognized as an able lawyer and a fearless advocate. In 1886 he was elected prosecuting attorney for the district extending from the head of Puget Sound to the Columbia river, and held that office for one term. Full of life and energy, with an indomitable will, he has always suceeded in everything he undertook. He has been engaged in many enterprises for the development of this state, and has acquired large property interests here and elsewhere. On May 1, 1889, he founded the daily and weekly TRIBUNE, of which he is still the owner. On March 16, 1891, Governor Laughton appointed him superior judge for Thurston county, and he entered at once upon the discharge of his duties and is acquiting himself with much credit. After his appointment to the bench he leased the TRIBUNE to Barton & Gill, its present publishers. Judge Robinson has for years been prominent in the politics of his adopted state, and being a man of marked individuality, the great independence of character, and with positive convictions boldly asserted, is known everywhere for his devotion to friends and his hatred of enemies. He is a bachelor.
W.A. Rogers, one of our prominent contractors, was born at Plymouth, Sheboygan county, Wisconsin, December 6, 1849. At the age of twelve, with his parents, he moved to the city of Sheboygan, where he attended school until he was seventeen years old, when he removed to Menomonee, the same state, and there learned the carpenter’s trade. In 1875 he went to Roberts, St. Croix county, where he owned and conducted a wagon shop and also carpentered, until 1882, when Minnesota attracted him, and he moved to Fisher, in that state. In 1884 he went to Grand Forks, Dakota, and contracted until 1885, when he came to Tacoma. In August of the same year he arrived in Olympia and has remained here ever since, following the avocation for which he is most ably fitted. He was married at Wilson, Wis., January 8, 1874, to Miss Mary J. Lamson, and has five children. Mr. Rogers is a contractor of wide experience, and can well feel proud of the name of faithfully fulfilling his agreements. He has contracted many buildings in this city, and in every instance has displayed exceptional qualifications as a builder. Like most of the knowing ones he is holding fast to his real estate possessions in this city. He is an esteemed citizen, and on all buildings of a public character he is invarably consulted.
Milo A. Root, ex-probate judge of Thurston County, and one of the best known of Washington lawyers, was born in Illinois, on January 22, 1863. His education was received in the State of New York, his parents moving to that state when he was thirteen years of age. He graduated from the Albany Law School in 1883, and later in the same year came to this state and settled in this city, beginning here the practice of law. He served two terms as probate judge of this county, being elected first in 1886, and was returned in 1888, his last term having just expired. He was the secretary of the Olympia Board of Trade for several months, and has done yeoman service for the city in that position. He was elected alderman last December, on the re-incorporation of the city, and resigned a short time since. Mr. Root is interested in, and is a dirctor in the Gray’s Harbor Electric Company, a company which furnishes telephone connection between this city and the Gray’s Harbor cities, besides to a portion of Mason County. In all that pertains to the growth, advancement, or prosperity of Olympia, Judge Root takes an active interest. He is married, but has no children.
One of Olympia’s oldest merchants, in point of years in business, is Mr. G. Rosenthal, who was born in Bavaria, Germany, on July 4, 1840. It was in 1855 that he came to America to seek his fortune in a new country, and he settled in Boston, where he was clerking for four years. He then went to New York, and at the breaking out of the rebellion offered himself to his adopted country as a soldier, but being short in stature he was refused by the mustering officer. He then went to California, where he remained from 1861 to 1863. In June of the latter year he came to Olympia, and has resided here ever since. After clerking for a few years he started into business for himself in 1869, and for twenty-two years he has been one of the leading merchants of this city. He first conducted a general merchandise store, and continued in that line until about two years ago when he gave up his hardware, grocery and crockery departments to devote himself exclusively to clothing, dry goods and gents’ furnishing goods, boots, shoes, hats and caps, a line in which he carries one of the most complete and varied stocks to be found in the northwest, his store at the corner of Main and Fourth streets being one of the best known in Southwestern Washington. Mr. Rosenthal has never aspired to public office, but has rather devoted his time and energies to his private business, although in 1869 his friends and neighbors prevailed upon him to accept the office of county trasurer, which position he filled with credit to himself and his constituents. He is married and has four children. In all that relates to the welfare or prosperity of the city of Olympia Mr. Rosenthal always takes an active and deep interest, and is one of the first to assist in all public-spirited enterprises.
Doing business under the firn name of Marr & Ross, are proprietors of the Acme Drug Store, a prominent institution of this city, and one that ranks A No. 1 among the drug houses on the Sound. .. Mr. Ross was only 16 years of age when he concluded to leave the family nest and assume for himself the responsibilityof life; even at this age he felt the need of more elbow room than Canada afforded, and so pushed out for the United States, making Cleveland, Ohio, his objective point. Here he received his first lessons in pill-making and kindred arts. After a three years’ residence in Cleveland, family ties and early friendships wooed him back to the native heath, only to find after some years’ trial that nothing short of a home in the “land of the free” would satisfy him; whereupon he recrossed the line, this time going to Minneapolis, Minn., where he remained, filling several responsible positions in some of the first drug stores of that city, until his removal to Olympia to enter the above mentioned partnership, which was formed February 21, 1890.
George Savidge, chief of police of Olympia, was born in Allentown, N.J., on February 6, 1842. He was educated in the public schools of his native town, and early learned the trade of harness making, working in Allentown. At the breaking out of the civil war he enlisted in company G, Eleventh New Jersey infantry, and served with distinction and bravery for a term of three years. For meritorious conduct he was several times promoted, and at the time of his discharge was captain of his company. In 1855 he engaged in the railroading and express business in his native state, and the conducted a stage line between Allentown and Philadelphia until 1871. From that time until 1880 he was engaged in different pursuits in different parts of the country, but in the latter year he went to St. Peter, Minn.., where he was engaged in farming for seven years, removing then to Mankato in the same state. Here he stayed only about six months, and removed to this city in 1888. He was appointed chief of police in February, 1889, a position which he has ever since held. In the discharge of the responsible duties of this office he has ever been found a conscientious and pains taking officer, and has made hosts of friends in the city of his adoption.
George B. Scammell, one of Olympia’s enterprising real estate dealers, was born in St. Johns, N.B., on July 23, 1860. After a common school education, he enterd the office of a ship broker in his native city, where he stayed until he went to New York city, in 1874, and entered into the business of marine underwriting and average adjustment. He stayed in the metropolis until three years ago, when he came to Olympia and entered into the real estate, loan and insurance business. He has now some of the finest property in the city, including Scammell’s addition, Main Street property, some at Gray’s Harbor, Tumwater, and other points. For some time Mr. Scammell was in partnership with Mr. Conger, under the firm name of Scammell & Conger, but has now taken the real estate and loan departments, making loans on real estate and improved property. Mr. Scammell is a member of the Olympia Board of Trade, and in all the movements that have for their objects the good of the city, Mr. Scammell takes an active part, being one of the foremost workers on all such enterprises.
George L. Sickles, councilman from the second ward, was born in Oswego county, New York, on September 28, 1847. He was brought up on a farm and received a common school education. He then went into the business of brick making in Waterloo, Wisconsin, and afterwards followed the same line of business in Buena Vista county, Iowa, and in the states of Nebraska, Minnesota and Dakota. Believing in the future of the Northwest he came to Washington territory about two years ago, settling in Tacoma. He came to Olympia about a year and a half ago, and was elected alderman last December. He is on many of the important committees of the city council; and takes a deep interest in all that relates to the welfare of the city. He is interested in real estate in and about the city although in no regular business at present. Mr. Sickles is married and has two children.
John A. Silsby was born at Bucksport, Maine, March 25, 1835. He was a sailmaker and miller, and in the mercantile business for seventeen years. At Bucksport he lived until the fall of 1878, when with his wife and daughter, the latter now Mrs. P.S. Weston, he came to Olympia, where for two years he clerked in the grocery store of S. Stork, and for one year was the employe of F.R. Brown. In 1881 Mr. Silsby entered into the mercantile business on his own account, at the corner of Seventh and Main streets, which property he purchased of the Episcopal church, and which is one of the most valuable business sites in Olympia. November 29, 1887, his wife, sister of J.H. Munson of this city, died. On November 9, 1890, Mr. Wilsby married Miss Jane Barnett, a Tacoma lady of geat intellectual ability. Mr. Silsby is trustee and steward in the M.E. Church of Olympia. As a business man he has been succesful and prospered to such an extent that he is among our heaviest property holders, and is an influential citizen. It is the intention of Mr. Silsby to practically show his faith in Olympia becoming a great city by adding one to the many brick blocks already erected and in process of erection.
Oley R. Simenson is a native of Norway, and is now forty-three years of age. In 1850 he was brought to America where he lived on a farm in La Crosse, Wis., until fourteen years of age. He then served four years at the printers’ trade, when he took a two years’ academic course and then learned the jewelers’ trade at Clear Lake, Iowa, which trade he has ever since pursued. In October, 1883, Mr. Simenson came to Olympia and established his present jewelry business at 315 Main street, where he carries a complete line of watches, jewelry and silverware. For two terms Mr. Simenson was councilman for the Second ward. He has a handsome residence corner of Maple Park and Franklin streets, and his family consists of his wife and two children, a boy and a girl.
J.W. Smyth, one of our substantial citizens was born at Mr. Holly, N.J., in 1834, and educated at the Mt. Holly institute. He learned the harness trade with Lace & Phillips, at Philadelphia, and was with his father afterwareds, who was then a wholesale boot and shoe dealer in the same city. When yet a young man he went to Ohio, where he followed harness making for fifteen years. From there he drifted to southern Illinois, where he had to carry arms all the time on account of the Indians, and his family narrowly escaped being mobbed by war refugees at Shawneetown. Going back to Ohio he worked until he earned sufficient money to return to New Jersey. In the forepart of 1862 he enlisted in Camden, N.J., upon the call of President Lincoln, and served till the close of the war, reenlisting as a vereran in the field. He was a member of the Tenth New Jersey veteran volunteers under Col. Pierson. He was in all the battles of the wilderness until the capture of Lee, in which he officiated as first lieutenant, commanding a company. He entered the war as a private; was detailed as quartermaster several times; was on General Penrose’s staff, and in the First division of the famous Sixth corps, under Wright. His promotion was due to bravery in the field. After the war he went to Indiana, purchased a farm and remained there four years. Then on account of ill health he went to Kanses. In that state he invested $4,000 in real estate, which he sitll owns, and while there, for twelve years, was in the stock and grain business. In April, 1888, he came to Gray’s Harbor, Washington, prior to the boom there, with very little money. He remained there six months, and then came to Olympia, with only twenty five cents in his pocket, and has been here ever since. Mr. Smyth was married in Philadelphia to Miss Mary Brooks, of Morlton, N.J. He is engaged in this city in the real estate business, and is feeling much younger than when he arrived. He has met with success, and has property thorughout the city. Mr. Smyth has two children, a daughter (at Gray’s Harbor), and a son who is expected to arrive here soon to go into business with his father. Both children are married.
Benjamin F. Snyder, one of the enterprising and pushing real estate dealers of Olympia, was born in Brown county, Ohio, August 17, 1851. He removed to Illinois with his parents when only three years of age. Until the age of twenty-five he followed farming. He moved to Nebraska in 1865, and went to stock raising about ten years after. He continued in this business until 1881 when he came to this state and settled in Tumwater. He was in the sash and door manufacturing business there for three years, when he went to Bucoda and engaged with the Settle Manufacturing company. There he stayed for two years, when he returned to Tumwater and became interested in a fruit ranch, which he still runs. He shortly afterwards entered the employ of Messrs. Spring & White, of this city, in the sash and door business, but about a year ago went into the real estate business, his office being at No. 224 Fourth street. He is interested in property in and about Olympia and has some choice lots for investors. Mr. Snyder is a member of the K. of P. and of the I.O.O.F.
John G. Sparks is of Scotch descent, and was born in 1811 near new Albany, Indiana. He went to Illinois in 1832, and was there married. He studied law under Judges Allen and Underwood, and was admitted to the bar in 1844. He practiced in the courts of Illinois until 1844, when he went to Columbia, California, and continued the practice of his profession until 1858. He was located at The Dales, Oregon, for two years, from where he went to Walla Walla. While in that city he was appointed internal revenue assessor by President Lincoln, which office he filled until after President Lincoln’s death in 1854. He came to this city in 1862, and is to-day one of Olympia’s most respected citizens. He has served one term as territorial auditor and four terms as justice of the peace. He has gained for himself an enviable reputation here, and has a large circle of friends and acquaintances.
(drawing by Edward Lange)
The Olympia Planing Mills were established March 1, 1887, by C.H. Springer, Allen White, and Allen & Harkness, under the firm name of Springer, White & Co. It was the [first] business of the kind to be established in Olympia. The plant has been enlarged several times until at present it is one of the most complete establishments of its kind on Puget Sound. The plant includes logging camps, a complete sawmill located in Chehalis County, in the center of one of the finest bodies of cedar and fir timber in the state, where giant trees are worked into timber and shipped direct to Olympia by the Northern Pacific Railroad, and is then worked again into doors, windows, casings, etc. of finest quality. The firm at present consists of C.H. Springer and Allen White, Messrs. Allen & Harkness having retired. Springer and White, by fair and honest dealing and close attention to business, have built up a large trade in this and adjoining counties, especially Chehalis and Mason counties. At present they have fifty men in their employ, the most of whom are first class mechanics, to whom the very highest wages are paid. They will the coming season turn at least two million feet of lumber into doors, windows, finished lumber, etc. Both the present members of the firm are practical mechanics, having been engaged in the sash and door business almost exclusively all their lives and to this fact they attribute largely their success in business. Their patrons from adjoining cities, when visiting the capital city, are called to visit their large establishment at the corner of Second and Jefferson Streets.
Alden Hatch Steele, M.D., was born at Oswego, N.Y., Feb. 10, 1823. His father, Orlo Steele, and his mother, Fanny Abbey, were born in Connecticut. Alden was the youngest of three brothers, William, a graduate of West Point, who served acceptably in the Mexican War, and Elijah, a lawyer, who was for many years Superior Judge in Siskiyou Co., Cal. Both have passed away. Dr. Steele studied medicine with Dr. P.H. Hard, at Oswego, and Dr. James R. Wood, the distinguished professor of surgery, New York; and graduated at the medical department of the University of New York in 1846. He first began practice at Oswego, afterward, at Southport (now Kenosha), Wisconsin, for a year. In March, 1849, he started for Oregon with a stage company, and overtook the Rifle Regiment, U.S.A., and was invited to join the officers; so he came in their company to Vancouver. After spending a few weeks there, he went to Oregon City, and settled, in October, 1879, practising his profession there for 14 years. In 1852, Dr. Steele administered chloroform in amputating a limb at the thigh — the first used in surgery north of San Francisco. He was a member of the city council eleven years, part of the time as recorder, and three years as mayor. In August, 1854, he was married to Miss Hannah H. Blackler, from Marblehead, Mass. Her grandfather Blackler was a captain in the war of the revolution, and commanded the flotilla with which Washington crossed the Delaware the night before the battle of Trenton. Of their two children born in Oregon, the daughter Fanny is now living and is the wife of Gen’l Russell G. O’Brien. For a short season in 1857, Dr. Steele was with Gen’l Palmer on the Grand Ronde Indian Reservation, and there, as at Oregon City, had a wonderful control of the red men. He was called to their wigwams often, in case of sickness, and so strong was their confidence in him, that in personal quarrels or whiskey rows, he could invariably quiet the combatants, and take away their liquor. In 1863, when troops and officers were called east for the war of the rebellion, Dr. Steele was appointed surgeon at Fort Dalles, where the post hospital was virtually a general hospital., and a very large number of cases passed under his care. Among them was a company of the 14th Infantry, reenlisted after the war, under command of Lieut. Col. Coppinger, and who became seriously affected with scurvy during their trip to this coast. After three years service in the dry climate of the Dalles, Dr. Steele’s health began to fail, and he was transferred to Fort Stevens, at the mouth of the Columbia, where his health was restored, and in June, ’67, to Fort Steilacoom, W.T. That post was “broken up” in April, ‘689, and the troops sent to Alaska. Decling further service in the army, Dr. Steele then came to Olympia, where he has since resided. In 1869 and ’70, when Col. Samuel Ross, of the U.S. Army, was superintendent of Indian affairs in Washington Territory, Dr. Steele was physician to the Indians of Nesqually and Chehalis Reservations, including Squaxon Island. Here he won the full confidence of the Indians, as he had done in other places. For 15 years he was examining surgeon for pensions, U.S.A., for both army and navy, commencing in 1873. He was appointed by Gov. Ferry, regent of the territorial university for two terms, from 1876 to 1880, and as medical inspector of territorial penitentiary, six years. He was medical examiner for the N.Y. Mutual Life Ins. Co. for 25 years, and for several other insurance companies, meanwhile. After removing from Oregon, he was elected honorary member of the Oregon medical society, and on giving up professional labors in Olympia was elected honorary member of the medical society of the state.
Edmund Sylvester, the pioneer settler of Olympia, was born at Deer Isle, Maine, in 1821. When yet a young man he came around Cape Horn and sailed up the Columbia river in 1844, taking up as a claim the territory now covered by the city of Albina, Oregon. He assisted in building the first house in Portland, Oregon. In 1846 he came to Puget Sound and took up as a homestead the land on which Olympia has since been built. He erected the first hotel in this city, and this hostlery was known as the “New England.” He made a free gift of a public square; also, the old district school grounds, and the land known as the capitol grounds. He died in Seattle a few years ago, leaving a wife and daughter.
The firm of Talcott Bros., dealers in watches, diamonds, jewelry, silver and silver plated ware, optical goods, sewing machiens, etc., was established in 1872 by C.R. Talcott, now senior member of the firm. The growth of the business of this firm is but another example of what can be done by push, integrity, and good business principles. Although started in a small way their growth has been rapid, until now they are one of the representative firms of Olympia, having the largest store and carrying by far the largest stock of any house in their line of business. The business was started in a window of a commission house, and by fair dealing and enterprise it rapidly increased until it has reached its present magnificent proportions. G.N. Talcott was admitted to the firm in 1882, and G.L. Talcott in 1890, and the business was much the gainer by this infusion of new blood. These gentlemen are natives of Pittsfield, Ill., and since their advent to this city have gained a deservedly high reputation among the representative business men of Olympia. In 1880 they bought the present location of their magnificent store and erected thereon the first two story brick store in the Capital City. In 1884 they bought the adjoining property and built another store whch they are now renting. Last summer they put in a large fire proof vault which would do honor to any banking institution in the country. In this vault they will have 100 safe deposit boxes which they will rent to their patrons for the safe deposit of all valuables. The wonderful success of this firm has been due to its own endeavors, and it has become a credit to the city. They not only carry the largest stock on their line of business and see to it that their customers get the full value for money, but they are enterprising and energetic citizens as well as business men, and take an active interest in all that tends toward the advancement of their adopted city. It is such men as these that have done much toward giving this city the impetus which has advanced it so rapidly. It s a pleasure to say that they are representative citizens of Olympia.
C. Thoreson … Secretary and treasurer of the [Thurston County Land Company], was born in Christiana, Norway, on May 17, 1852. After graduating from the high school he served as a clerk in a general merchandise store until 1872, when he came to Rochelle, Ill., where he engaged as clerk in a dry goods store for two years, when he went to Hamilton county, Iowa, where he entered into the mercantile business, in which line he continued until he sold out in 1880. He was then elected county recorder and held that office for two terms. He then went into the real estate and loan business, continuing until he came to this state last May. Mr. Thoreson is married, but has no children.
Harry C. Tillotson, city engineer of Olympia, was born in Marshall, Calhoun country, Michigan, on October 17, 1862. He was educated as a civil engineer, and graduated at Cauandaugua, New Yor, in 1880. He first was engaged in railroad building in Ohio, and has been engaged in that class of work and city engineering ever since. In 1884 he was assistant engineer on the famous Ohio river bridge at Point Pleasant, Virginia, and in 1887 he was assistant city engineer of Duluth, Minn. Mr. Tillotson first came to the state of Washington in 1888, and settled in this city last June. For the past season he has been engaged as resident engineer in charge of construction of Northern Pacific railroad line through Olympia. He was elected city engineer last December, and his thorough training for the position and his capabilities for such an important place, although still quite a young man, has been amply shown in the sterling work and the many radical and efficient improvements that he has made in the city engineer’s department, even in the short time that he has been at the head.
Le Roy M. Tozier was born in Portland, Oregon, April 8, 1867. When five years of age he removed to Hillsboro, Washington county, Oregon, where his father was elected sheriff, afterward representative, and then judge of Washington county. He received his education at Pacific university and Tualatin academy, taking a four years’ course, but leaving when having gone but three. Since that time he has traversed the Pacific coast, occasionally going east. Five years of this time he spent in the clothing business at different places. Mr. Tozier came to Olympia November 6, 1889, and established business at the corner of Fourth and Washington streets, at which place he has enjoyed large business. Mr. Tozier has recently interested himself with business men in Portland, Oregon, in the real estate business, and wil operate there and in Olympia.
One of Olympia’s oldest and best known citizens is Peterfield Turpin who came here in 1858. Mr. Turpin was born in Warsaw, Gallatin county, Kentucky, on May 3, 1840. He received an appointment as surveyor under Gen. James Tilton, by President Buchanan, in the general land office here in 1858, and continued for some years. He is now a capitalist, well provided as far as the needs of this life are concerned. In 1883 Mr. Turpin was a member of the territorial legislature and has had many cases of trust and importance within the gift of his fellow citizens. He was married in 1860 and has two children, a son, F.B. Turpin, who is now residing in Seattle, and a daughter, Mrs. George B. Scammell, residing in this city. He resides at the corner of Main and Sixth streets, surrounded by his family, preferring a residence in the place where he has spent the best years of his life for the good of his city and state, rather than in the East, where a great part of his large property is situated.
James G. Tusten is one of the men who by strict attention to conservative business methods has built for himself a good business in Olympia. He was born at Tusten, Waushara county, Wisconsin, July 14, 1864, his native town being named in honor of his father, Thomas R. Tusten, who was one of the pioneers of the Badger state. In 1872 his parents left Wisconsin for the southern states, and after traveling through several states and territories during the succeeding two years, settled in Texas and engaged in cotton raising. They followed this for three years until the fall of 1877 they removed to Kansas, and the next spring started across the plains to try their fortunes in the northwest. After four months’ travel they reached Oregon City, and in the following spring came to Tacoma, where his father had a contract to build the Northern Pacific railway from Tacoma to Wilkeson. Mr. Tusten has remained in Washington ever since, except for three years he was farming at Hood River, Oregon. In September 1885, he opened a small candy store in Olympia, where he has met with a good degree of success. His business having grown beyond his expectations, in November, 1890, he was obliged to seek larger accommodations. At this time he formed a partnership with Mr. Swenta Johnson, and has since, under the firm name of Tusten & Johnson, been doing a wholesale and retail business in French, American and home made candies, fruits of all kinds, cigars, tobaccos, snuff, cutlery and smokers’ supplies. Connected with their store Tusten & Johnson have commodious club rooms and ice cream parlors. Mr. Tusten is a most affable gentleman, strictly attentive to his business, and courteous to his customers.
John P. Tweed, county auditor of Thurston county, was born in Cincinati, Ohio, in 1846. He attended the school there until nineteen years of age, then entered upon his business career as clerk in a commission house, continuing therein until twenty-two years of age, when he removed to Evansville, Indiana, and purchased an interest in a planing mill. He remained in that business for three years, thence went to White county, Indiana, and engaged in farming until the spring of 1872. From there he came to Washington, remaining only a few months, when he went to San Jose, California. During his residence of five years there Mr. Tweed clerked in various public offices. In August, 1878, he returned to Washington, coming to Olympia, and in 1879 entered the surveyor general’s office as clerk, continuing therein for eight years, until a change in administration. In the fall of 1888 Mr. Tweed was elected to his present position of auditor of Thurston county. The wisdom of selecting a man of Mr. Tweed’s extensive clerical experience for this responsible position is freely acknowledged by all, irrespective of party, and the affairs of his office have been administered with a business-life promptness and accuracy which, with his agreeable social qualities, has made him one of the most popular officials in the county.
Among Olympia’s progressive business men there is no one better known or more renowned for his energy and business foresight than the subject of this sketch. Born in Nebraska, Mr. Van Epps at an early age became one of Washington’s young pioneers. About two years since he succeeded his father Hon. T.C. Van Epps in conducting his present wholesale and retail bookselling house and general fancy goods bazaar. By close attention to business this young merchant has placed his establishment among the first in his line of trade in the entire northwest, and has given Olympia’s citizens opportunities of purchasing at home many classes of goods which they were formerly compelled to purchase in foreign markets. His trade in holiday goods runs far up into the thousands and during the last holiday season his sales exceeded those of any other establishment in Thurston county. Mr. Van Epps’ experience is a thorough example of what youth, energy and close attention to business details can accomplish, and a bright future surely lies before this young merchant.
Alderman Samuel G. Ward was born in Toulon, Stark county,Illinois, on January 17, 1843. He came across the isthmus in 1853, and came to Washington in 1862, and from that year until 1866 he was engaged in trading and mining in the Powder river mines in eastern Oregon. In the latter year he returned to Washington, settling at Tumwter, and engaged in the milling business for four years. From 1870 to 1878 he was in the mercantile business in the same place. It was in the latter year that he was elected to the legislature as a representative from Thurston county, and he then took up his residence in this city and went into business. In 1882 Mr. Ward became the local agent for the Northern Pacific express company, a position that he has ever since held, being the agent also for the Northern pacific railroad company, and the ticket agent for that road. It was in December last year that he was elected to the city council to represent ward one. He is married, and has a family of three children. In all enterprises of this city Alderman Ward always takes an active and deep interest.
Mr. Robert N. Whitham [of the civil engineering firm Whitham, Page & Blake] is a graduate from the school of engineering in the University of Illinois, and has had large experience in relocating government surveys.
Mr. Frank C. Williams was born in London, Eng., August 31, 1866. In September, 1874, with his widowed mother, he went to Toronto, Canada, where he received a common school education, and at the same time, when only thirteen years of age, he learned the undertaking business with V.P. Humphrey of Toronto. Mr. Williams then attended the Toronto medical school and Toronto university, where he attained a thorough and practical knowledge of arterial embalming, continuing in the undertaking business in the meantime. In 1887 he removed to Buffalo, N.Y., and a year later he came to Olympia, Wash., and entered the employ of Rabbeson and Harned, undertakers; also doing bill posting and playing first class attractions in Columbia hall until the Olympia theater was opened, when he became stage manager for that theater and city bill poster.
The firm of A.W. Wisner & Co. is composed of A.W. Wisner and J.E. Poe, and they are at present conducting a general real estate and insurance business and have recently purchased the “Home Plat,” a beautiful suburb of Olympia, which they have just placed on the market. They propose in the near future, however, to make fire insurance a specialty, Mr. Wisner having had many years experience as an underwriter … Mr. Wisner was detailed by the Capital Campaign Committee of Olympia to work in Whitman county during the recent campaign, and the result of the election there shows that he did his work well …
J.R. Wood, one of Olympia’s oldest and best known citizens, was born in the town of Henston, Duchess county, N.Y., on January 3, 1825. Catching the western fever at the early age of sixteen years, he went to Michigan, and for a time lived near Detroit. In 1847 he went to Wisconsin and settled near the present city of Racine, voting for the adoption of the first constitution of that state. When the California gold excitement broke out in 1849, he started for that reputed El Dorado, met his father and a small party of friends, crossing the plains to near the present city of Los Angeles, where they arrived on Christmas eve, and then proceeding to San Francisco, which was reached on March 12, 1850. In November, 1850, Mr. Wood arrived in Oregon, and in the following month he reached Puget Sound, settling in this city, where he has ever since resided. He established the first brewery in Olympia, and successfully conducted the same for twenty years. In the various Indian wars that the early settlers of Puget Sound were obliged to undergo, Mr. Wood took a prominent part, and was a regular volunteer under the call for troops issued by Governor Stevens, in 1856. Mr. Wood has occupied his present residence on Fifth street ever since 1851. He married the daughter of Judge Yeustis in 1859, and has two children, one son and one daughter. He has many very pleaant and interesting as well as startling reminiscences of the early pioneer days of Puget Sound to relate, when he was one among the very few white settlers in what is now the present State of Washington.
S.C. Woodruff, one of Olympia’s best known citizens, was born in Hong Kong, China, on September 20, 1858. His father was in the government employ there at the time, being the surveyor of the Port of Shanghai. When six years of age young Woodruff came to the territory of Washington, and settled in Olympia, where his education was received. He first went into the job printing business, and afterwards entered into mercantile life as a book seller, in which line he continued, in this city, for seven years. He then removed to Seattle, where he was in the same trade for two years, until he was appointed accountant in the State Insane Asylum, being afterwards secretary of the trustees of that institution, a position which he held for six years. Two years ago he came back to Olympia and entered into the real estate business. He plotted, laid out and put on the market that beautiful suburb known as Woodruff’s Addition, and sold all of it within a year. He also laid out the town site of Gate City, twenty miles from here, and has sold a large portion of that delightful place. In 1887 he erected the handsome building on Main Street, known as Woodruff’s Block, which is an ornament and credit to the city. He was assistant postmaster of Olympia for five years and is an active member of the A.O.U.W. and of the Elks, president of the School Board and secretary of Olympia Hotel Co. He has done a great deal to upbuild and develop the city of Olympia, and is recognized as one of the pushing and enterprising residents of this thriving and rapidly growing community.