Location: 116 4th Ave E
National Downtown Historic District, Local register, Wohleb
|Olympia Cafe, 1914, photo by Robert Esterly, courtesy of Washington State Historical Society||
Baretich building today (2012), photo by Deb Ross
Since Olympia’s beginnings, there have been small but popular commercial establishments along Fourth Avenue, including numerous cafes and bars. The Olympia Cafe pictured at above left was owned by John Baretich. In 1936, Baretich commissioned local architect Joseph Wohleb to design a stylish new building for the same location. Wohleb incorporated several of his signature features into this charming building, including the fixed awning, clerestory windows and fancy carrera glass. For several years these features were hidden, but the building was restored recently and original features can now be seen and add to the characteristic look of Olympia’s downtown. The building is cited as a historic contributing building in the National Downtown Historic District and is on the local register.
Washington State Historical Society photographs
enter the following catalog number in collection search box: 2010.149.28.1; Best Camera Store in 1950s or 1960s, C1918.104.22.1689