Location: 430 Percival St NW
|Kelly House, 1939, Thurston County Assessor, Southwest Regional Archives||Kelly House today (2014), photo by Deb Ross|
The Kelly House is one of several homes on Percival and nearby streets in the northwest neighborhood that were built about the same time by Tumwater Lumber Mills (TLM). TLM was founded by the Andersen brothers and provided precut homes that could be ordered from a catalogue. The company was widely successful, providing materials for hundreds of homes in Olympia alone. For more information on this company, see the listing for the Harmon House, or the DAHP listing linked below. This house is on the local register. Note its striking similarity to the Winters House, just a block away, as well as the way decorative features made each of these homes unique. The house was built about 1932. James Kelly worked for the Department of Education.
The home is near, but not in, the Rogers Street Local Historical District, which showcases Tumwater Lumber Mills homes.
Copyright © 2022 Deborah Ross