Location: 436 Rogers St NW
local register, Rogers Street Historic District
Winters House, 1937, Thurston County Assessor, Southwest Regional Archives
Winters House today (2014), photo by Deb Ross
The Winters House is one of five homes on Rogers Street Northwest that were built about the same time by Tumwater Lumber Mills (TLM). TLM was founded by the Anderson brothers and provided precut homes that could be ordered from a catalogue. The company was widely successful, providing materials for hundreds of homes in Olympia alone. For more information on this company, see the listing for the Harmon House, or the DAHP listing linked below. This house is on the local register in its own right, as well as being located in the Rogers Street Local Historic District, which was created to showcase the unique contributions of TLM to Olympia’s architectural history. The house was built about 1931. It is distinguished from its four neighbors to the south by having a T-shape with a small turret entrance, suitable for its corner location.
Rogers Street Local Historic District
Copyright © 2022 Deborah Ross