Location: 1404 28th Ave SE
local register, Wohleb, mid-Century modern
|Hosking House, 1940, Thurston County Assessor, Washington State Archives||
Hosking House today (2013), Photo by Deb Ross
Frederick Schmidt and his brother Franck, who were part of the Olympia Brewing Company family, platted Stratford Place during World War II. They built several homes in the subdivision out of concrete block, including Frederick’s own home, the Frederick W. Schmidt House and the nearby Fox House. This home, the Hosking House, was located at the edge of what is now Watershed Park. It was built in 1939 with a design by architect Joseph Wohleb. According to historians, concrete block was used because of the difficulty of obtaining wood during the war. Several unique features were used to reduce moisture as well as insulate the homes. The first owner, Marvin Hosking, Jr., worked as parts manager for Fleming Harvey Motors. The home is on the local heritage register.