Location: 424 Rogers St NW
local register, Rogers Street Historic District
|Lassen House, 1937, Thurston County Assessor, Southwest Regional Archives||Lassen House today (2014), photo by Deb Ross|
The Lassen House is one of five homes on Rogers Street Northwest that were built about the same time by Tumwater Lumber Mills (TLM). TLM was founded by the Anderson brothers and provided precut homes that could be ordered from a catalogue. The company was widely successful, providing materials for hundreds of homes in Olympia alone. For more information on this company, see the listing for the Harmon House, or the inventory listing linked below. This house is well maintained and is on the local register in its own right, as well as being located in the Rogers Street Local Historic District, which was created to showcase the unique contributions of TLM to Olympia’s architectural history. The house was built about 1930 and first owned by Irving Lassen. Lassen co-owned the Bergstrom sport shop on Fourth Avenue and later went into the electrical contracting business, Lassen Electric, which is still in business. Lassen also endowed the Lassen Foundation which provides financial assistance to Thurston County’s needy citizens.
Copyright © 2022 Deborah Ross