Location: 1633 Eastside St SE
|Barnes/Osterhout House 1939, Thurston County Assessor, Southwest Regional Archives||Barnes/Osterhout House today (2015), photo by Deb Ross|
When it was erected in about 1908, this home on Eastside Street would have been considered remote from downtown. It abutted the city’s waterworks in what is now Watershed Park. The home is of a unique design with a two-story bay window. (When architectural historians cannot use a well-known style to describe a building, they call it “vernacular”.) Frank Barnes, the original owner, managed the Postal Telegraph office downtown. Later on the home was owned by the Osterhout family.
Copyright © 2022 Deborah Ross