Location: 418 Rogers St NW
local register, Rogers Street Historic District
|Potts House, 1937, Thurston County Assessor, Southwest Regional Archives||Potts House today (2014), photo by Deb Ross|
The Potts House is one of five homes on Rogers Street Northwest that were built about the same time by Tumwater Lumber Mills (TLM). TLM was founded by the Anderson brothers and provided precut homes that could be ordered from a catalogue. The company was widely successful, providing materials for hundreds of homes in Olympia alone. For more information on this company, see the listing for the Harmon House, or the inventory sheet linked below. This house is well maintained and is on the local register in its own right, as well as being located in the Rogers Street Local Historic District, which was created to showcase the unique contributions of TLM to Olympia’s architectural history. The house was built in 1929 and first owned by Harold and Gertrude Potts. Harold Potts was a school principal at the nearby Garfield School.